Jayk

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Canada, Switzerland, United States, Vietnam

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hey, my name's Jayk! I'm from Alberta, Canada but I enjoy spending most of my time seeking what else the world has to offer. I'm very passionate about videography and photography, always thinking of what kind of film to produce next. I have several years of experience in carpentry, having completed 2nd year in college. Above all I love to meet new people, share experiences and gain new ones along the way. I have an open mind and love to constantly learn about new things, and am more than willing to share my knowledge as well!
    Travelling on my own has taught me what it means to go out of my comfort zone, and the growth and character building aspects it brings. I'm not picky when it comes to anything and always look at the positive side of things.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Carpentry
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Filmmaker
    -Production, shooting, directing, editing. Always trying to learn new aspects of the editing process as that is something I'm definitely most interested in
    2nd year Carpenter (renovations, new builds, woodworking)
    -3 years of work experience in construction. Have experience in practically every aspect, from framing to interior finishing. Also have done landscaping and woodworking.
    Photographer
    -Aspiring photographer. Really teaching myself editing and photoshop lately but also equally as passionate about raw shooting, whether it be film or digital.
    Writer
    -Wrote a book this past year about my solo travels and the reality of living in a car/van as opposed to how the lifestyle is portrayed on social media. I had a lot of fun and learnt the process of writing along with editing and graphic design for the cover as well.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    Last year I travelled the western states solo for six weeks living in my '97 4Runner. I've built a sleeping and cooking system in the back and have travelled solo several times with the aid of my conventional setup! I've taken part in a couple of missions trips, overseas to southeast Asia and Mexico, teaching english and contributing to the less fortunate with physical labor and construction. This fall I'd returned to the states with the intent of finding work but was relatively unsuccessful, resorting to buying and living in a car and seeing as much of the east coast as I could, while meeting amazing people along the way!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback