Jason

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Top Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Fully Vaccinated and Boosted
    Currently in Argentina
    I'm a beginner Spanish speaker, but i want to become an advanced level speaker.
    I'm clean, conscientious, respectful, adventurous, and openminded.

    After great workaway experiences in the US, I would like to use workaway as an opportunity to explore South America. In addition to providing work in exchange for accommodations, I'm interested in being fully immersed in the lifestyle of my hosts. This provides me with an opportunity to experience a place through its people, and make new friends.

    I took time off to explore parts of the US, and now unexpectedly I am exploring South America. I'm motivated by the opportunity to expand my understanding of people, how they live, and getting to experience their lifestyle with them. I am also see this as an opportunity for continual self-improvement. I treat journeys as an end in and of itself. I enjoy experiencing new geographies, both urban and natural. I am most happy when in the company of people who are living their full genuine, driven lives in freedom.

    My professional background is in geography and sociology, but I'm moving into public policy. One of my goals for this trip is to support a successful public policy career by better understanding the people policy is supposed to serve.

    I enjoy playing sports & games of all kinds, conversation, listening to stories, reading, learning, exploring, hiking and other outdoor activities.

    Being respectful of my hosts and their home is something I take seriously. It's important to me for both of us to feel all the better for the experience.

    https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/jasonwencak?action=show&controller=user_profiles
    linkedin.com/in/jasonwencak/

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    History
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I have experience with many tasks. I’m always open to working on new tasks and learning new skills.

    Caretaking: Toddlers, children, and elderly.

    Agriculture Experience:
    WWOOF France, 5 weeks: vineyard maintenance, cattle and pig feeding and maintenance of living spaces, built pig shelter, etc.
    Educational Farm, 1 month: harvesting, redesigning beds, stonework, drying and de-stemming herbs and berries, mulching, orchard maintenance, manure application, winterizing fields, etc. Gardening, planting, plant maintenance, etc.
    Goat Farm, 1 month: cleared field of dead trees, fed goats, donkey, llama, chickens, general farm maintenance, vegetable, fruit, and herb caretaking and harvesting, goat fence installation, animal habitat and shelter maintenance

    House Renovation: Painting, door replacement, insulating, wallpaper and mirror removal, shelving installation, organizing/interior design, etc.

    Landscaping: Tree removal and pruning, hedge trimming, wood splitting, gardening, building garden beds, weeding, mulching, mowing, weedwacking, operating 20" chainsaw, reciprocating saw, auger, 8’ wide front loader, 4-wheeler, etc.

    Meal Prep: assisted with meal prep and presentation as a server and kitchen supervisor at a farm-to-table restaurant

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I'm happy to learn any language, practice French, Spanish, Portuguese, or Chinese with another learner, teach English or beginner French, Spanish, or Chinese.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    35

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback