Jasna

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Hungary, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia (Slovak Republic)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/02/2020 - 14/08/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Update 2020:
    I had 3 great workaway experiences in 2019 and 2020 working with animals. I am not currently planning anything but I might be interested in travelling again between early September and late October (semester break). I prefer to help at rescue farms / animal shelters / sanctuaries (can be official or privat, like people who take in "unwanted" animals).

    Hello,
    my name is Jasna, I am from Bremen, Germany and I quit my job because I decided to study again. My Masters programme in Ecology started in October 2019. A couple of years back, I have completed the Bachelor in Environmental Sciences.
    I yearn to travel and experience something different when I am on semester break. I would like to spend some weeks as a volunteer helping in an animal shelter / rescue farm since I love animals.
    I have volunteered and worked at an animal shelter in my home town before and I have experience with cats, dogs, horses and smaller pets like rabbits. In 2019 and early 2020 I helped at two animal sanctuaries in Austria and Germany via Workaway (animals: horses, donkeys, sheep, pigs (mini and normal), cows, goats, chicken, ducks, dogs, cats) and I worked at a horse stable in summer 2020.
    I have travelled quite a lot while I was a student previously. I spent 5 months in China, 6 weeks in Vietnam, visited Cambodia, Laos and Thailand. I did exchange semesters in Spain, Denmark and Sweden. I've also been to the US once and to the UK a couple of times.
    Right now, I am looking for a place in Europe without a long journey.
    In my free-time, I like to go to the gym and meet friends, but I am also good on my own, like going for walks or biking etc. I love TV series and also like to read, paint or write from time to time. I can be quiet but I love to get to know new people and experience different cultures.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    Animal care:
    - worked in an animal shelter for more than a year and took care primarily of cats, mostly on the quarantine station with sick cats where some light vet assisting and higher hygiene standards etc. was included. Sometimes I also worked with dogs or small pets like rabbits, sometimes wild animals like pigeons and hedgehogs.
    - worked in a dog day-care and did some private dog sitting
    - did horse back riding for 10 years when I was younger
    - workaway experience on two animal sanctuaries in 2019 and 2020 which mainly inlcuded feeding and handling the animals (horses, sheep, cows, pigs, goats, donkeys, cats, dogs, chicken and ducks)
    I love all animals and am very good with them. I am very interessted in their handling and well-being and did a lot of research. Plus I studied environmental sciences and ecology, so I also have an scientific approach. I am not afraid to get dirty and mock out stables. I believe animals should be handled with respect and according to their individual and biological needs.

    physical labor:
    I am not afraid to get my hands dirty and work hard

    team-player:
    throughout my time abroad and at University, I have learned to get along well with others. I am very good in a team and can comply orders

    being responsible for people:
    I am also good at working on my own and to be in charge. I was responsible for school volunteers when I did an internship at an NGO in Shanghai

    Reliabilty:
    I am punctual, orderly and dependable

    In my past job I have worked in an office, so I am also good with office work

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    32

  • What else ...

    I love playing board or card games with my friends. I am a very good listener and people like to confide in me. I am determined and will tell you when something is wrong staight forward. In general I am very easy to be around.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Pollen

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian but I try to reduce all animal products

Feedback