Jared

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Iceland, Mexico, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru, Spain, Sweden, Venezuela

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2020 - 01/08/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    775

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi!
    My name is Jared, I'm 27 and I'm from a small village near Exeter, United Kingdom. I'm looking to travel and gain experience around Europe for the rest of 2019 and into 2020. There is many places I'd like to see and would choose a destination based on the type of work and if there's like-minded and open people and the chance to learn new things and have a good time (I want to go to places where I feel wanted and valued by the host. This is really important to me).
    About Me:
    I am a positive and outgoing/active person with creative flair and ability, who is also adventurous and love physical challenges and adrenaline rushes!
    I'm looking to find a place I can volunteer for conservation, farm or hostel work, I love to be active (I am fit and healthy). I would like to do any work that involves working with others as my interests are to meet other people and develop skills.
    I have skills and like to teach others. I'm very good at sports like tennis and surfing (I'm a qualified tennis coach), I also studied music at university and can teach you guitar and some other instruments. I also like to work with computers and I can help you with your website and digital marketing. I know how to build you a basic website if you need one or make some changes to your current one. I also know how to optimise your website or social media and can do things like SEO, social media marketing and content creation. I like to use my hands, I like to do outdoor work but also happy to help out around a house, clean up and help with creative projects.
    I have previously travelled to Ireland, Portugal, Morocco, France, Egypt, Spain, Canary Islands, St. Luisa, Bulgaria, Germany, Italy, Slovenia and Austria. I have also lived in the Netherlands for 6 months on a student exchange program (Erasmus).

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Websites and digital marketing: I know how to write HTML and CSS code to build and edit a basic website. I know a little Javascript but I have a lot to learn still.
    Music: I can teach you how to play the guitar as I have been playing for around 6 years and I can teach you how to make music and produce songs on a computer if you have the software at home. I also play a little keyboard, drums and bass guitar. I have also written music for film and video.
    Tennis: I am an LTA (Lawn Tennis Association) Level 2 qualified tennis coach. I have worked in the past with children ages 6-18 and some adults to teach them tennis skills, movements and tactics. I like to make learning fun and enjoyable so you'll want to keep playing. I have played tennis since I was 4 years old (so over 20 years technically!) and played competitively and at club level.
    English (language exchange): Being from England I can help you with your English! Although I don't speak any other languages fluently, I’m learning the basics of many. At the moment I am learning Spanish
    General: Through workaway I have learnt to help with English, look after sheep, goats, dogs, cats, chickens and horses, harvest and clean vegetables, cook for large groups, chop, stack and peel wood, some minor construction skills and painting.
    I also have experience with customer service, hospitality, creative projects (video, music, film), Microsoft office, farm work and labouring and driving.
    (Maybe my best skill): The desire to learn and try new things. I normally pick up things quickly, especially physical things. I would like to learn new construction skills, languages and anything that can help in the future.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    English

  • What else ...

    I have a full UK driving licence, do not smoke, love animals (if you have any I will be enjoying their company all the time - especially dogs!), very clean and organised, good with all ages, good with numbers, love to meet and help others, like to read, enjoy good, fresh and healthy food (I can cook for myself or try to cook for everyone), I clean up after myself, I'm generally not loud at night. I like to listen and learn from others, especially people from other cultures.
    I also love to exercise a lot and stay healthy (tennis, running, surfing, snowboarding, swimming, cycling, boxing, football, badminton, walking, hiking, yoga, meditation and MORE!)
    Most importantly, like I said before, I want to go to places where I feel wanted and valued by the host. I want to leave with rewarding memories and new skills I can take with me always. I want to make a difference for the lives of the hosts and I will do my best to achieve that.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Kicking back on the Utrecht canal.
Climbing up Snowdon (Highest peak in the UK)
University tennis
Local Festival with old school friends
Erasmus In Netherlands
BBC Music
Grenoble
Surfing in Morocco
Surf Hostel Hossegor
Borovets Bulgaria
My first workaway experience
Workaway Gran Canaria
Workaway

Feedback