Jan

  • Netherlands
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Italy
    View all
  • Description

    Hello, my name is Jan and I'm a 50 year old single guy from the Netherlands. From 2000 until 2018 I used to work as an assembler for hightech production areas. But the last 4 years I got more fond of being outdoors. I worked for a daycare farm and found out that working with animals and doing farm work is the thing that I enjoy the most. At the daycare farm I worked with pigs, horses and chickens. I prefer working with horses. To be honest I used to be afraid of horses but since I did a session with a horse coach I lost my fear. They are the most beautiful animals that are there. Especially the mirror they can hold in front off you.

    So I would love to work on a farm with animals, being outdoors, giving a helping hand on a farm.
    I'm eager to learn a lot of new things. I would love to learn more about permaculture. Being self sufficient gets more important these days. Learning how to build something like a shed or a log-cabin from scratch. I have the knowledge in technical drawings but not the skills to build. I really would like to learn that. Also performing a wide variety of tasks on a farm is something I like to do. With being outdoors I mean doing something like hiking and bushcraft.

    I'm an easy going, modest person. In a crowd I'm a quiet person. I prefer 1 on 1 conversations. I am who I am. If i feel comfortable I can be very funny, I have very dry humor. I'm also fond of people and not averse to a serious conversation. Also on spiritual level. But not in a crowd.

    One important thing that needs to be said is that I don't like to be put under time pressure. That gives me stress. I can still work hard and I'm in a good condition (for my age) but stress is something I would like to avoid.

    Sweden is one of my favorite places (so far). But also Portugal and Italy are places I love to go to.
    I speak fluent English, intermediate in Italian and german and very poor in Swedish (learning at the moment). I'm also interested in cultural exchanges like languages and traditions.

    So...hopefully I can find nice places where I can learn and work the way I want to and find the right people to have a good connection
    Lets see if we can match-up

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Carpentry
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    DIY & crafts
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Videography
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    History
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    DIY and building projects
    Gardening

    Some knowledge of:  

    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I'm good in technical drawing, relaxed and easy going with people.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I'm always interested in learning the language of the country I'm am at that moment. And I could probably teach english

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    50

  • What else ...

    I'm a big music fan. Especially country and folk. At home a have a lot of vinyl
    I can play a little bit guitar.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback