Jan

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/11/2019 - 13/11/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home


    A travelling Dutch guy looking to connect with new people. Currently in Auckland, planning on doing hikes and exploring Northland after new year's. If you'd like to meet up, let me know!

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    --Disclaimer--
    I will be working around Gisborne until further notice, but happy to go out and do activities when possible!

    Hello!

    I am Jan ten Haaf from the Netherlands. I was studying IT when I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes. My life got different requirements, as sitting inside all day would not be a healthy option. This made me wonder: “What else is out there?”

    Two years ago I decided to jump into the unknown and I ended up on a potato farm in Australia for 9 months. Since then I am hooked on travelling and seeing other cultures, and meeting new people. This is why I decided to come to New Zealand in Nov 2019.

    What I love about travelling is having the freedom of trying out new things, learn new skills, meet great people, and get a taste of life in different cultures.

    I love being active (snowboarding, tramping), enjoying landscapes, and adopting new habits. I appreciate the little things in life; pets, taking a walk in the morning, watching birds, watching sunrises/sunsets. In my spare time, I am still doing some IT, as I like working on projects.

    I like cooking and I am eager to improve my skills. I get satisfied by tackling problems and creating solutions.

    I am
    - Hard-working
    - Trustworthy
    - Open-minded
    - Calm
    - Creative
    - Willing to learn new skills

    At first, I might come over as shy, as I will need some time to get used to the situation. I enjoy meeting new people, but every now and then, I like to have some time for myself.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Winter sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    History
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I've got some farming experience:
    - In Australia, I was in charge of planting the potato fields.
    - I prepared the soil, planted potatoes, fertilized them, and I was chaser when harvesting, so I can also drive a telly-handler.
    - In New Zealand, I worked on a cropping farm, where I mostly did some irrigation and helped with the harvest.
    - Doing 'rougher' work outside is no problem for me, I don't mind getting my hands dirty.
    - I always carry a notebook around so I can write things down in order to not forget them.
    - I have some fencing experience.

    I have some IT experience.
    - I can make websites using PHP (Laravel), JavaScript (Vue), HTML and CSS.
    - I am good at working with computers.

    I am quite handy with tools, but I am open to improvement.

    I am always curious, so I am eager to learn new things!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I am interested in psychology, as I am trying to do a lot of self-development.

    I LOVE watching good movies and listening to good music.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I am type 1 Diabetic. So no sweet drinks/dessert for me. I am trained not to eat when others are, so don't feel sorry for me. Also, this might mean that I will ask 'rude' questions, like "what's for diner?" By all means I am just trying to get my preparat

Photos

Feedback