Jonathan

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Portugal ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    10/01/2019 - 07/03/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Enthusiastic open minded traveler from Scotland with experience working in Ukraine, Italy and Spain.
    Passionate about people. keen linguist. Not afraid to converse, sing, act or whatever is required for the task. Always willing to throw myself into new situations!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am a skilled linguist with a lot of experience volunteering abroad and have had quite unique experiences particularly for someone of my age!!

    Here I list all my skills and experience

    June 2017- I had a paid internship at the Edinburgh Tourist Information Centre where I helped tourists find accommodation and book tours as well as answer general enquiries often in French or Spanish. I completed the Welcome Host customer training course so I have good customer service skills.

    September 2017- I completed a chalet hosting course in Morzine, France. As well as learning about all aspects of running a ski chalet I completed a level 2 Food Safety and Hygiene Qualification.
    I spent two summers volunteering on environmental projects in France and Germany. They lasted a fortnight each and I learnt the skills you need to work in an international team.

    December 2017- I first went on a workaway project in Porto, Portugal. Here I worked In a Hostel and gained valuable experience.

    January to April 2018- I went on my second workaway In Seville, Spain.

    June to July 2018- I worked potato farming In the Scottish Borders.

    August 2018- I worked in the prestigious Edinburgh fringe festival (comedy/music/theater etc) as part of a front of house team.

    Oct 2018 - Feb 2019 Argyle Backpackers Hostel, Edinburgh, Scotland
    Reception and cleaning

    Feb - May 2019 OLA Language School, Khmelnytskyi, Ukraine Teaching English to adults and children. Beginner and advanced level

    Jun - july 2019
    English Tutor,, Italy
    In charge of a class of fifteen 7-11 year olds at a summer camp

    Oct. 2019
    Language assistant Jerez,
    Helped in English lessons at a Spanish school

    Feb 2020
    Travelling TEFL teacher, Delivered an English enrichment programme
    In Italian primary schools

    Since March I have been home due to Covid-19 and I have taken the time to complete A TEFL teaching certificate (120 hours) (March 2020). I have also taken the time to work a little in a local care home (July 2020).

    August update:
    I am now looking for potential opportunities around Europe. Very excited to start seeing the world again! A full CV can be requested if necessary.



    My hobbies include music, skiing and exploring different cultures and their food.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    Scottish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback