Janette

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bangladesh, Bhutan, France, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Portugal, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/04/2019 - 31/08/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    UPDATE 27th June: Looking for both hosts and travel buddies. Currently in Israel.
    ----
    I'm a 35yr old Australian woman from Melbourne, returning to travel after about 9 years.
    This time I want to take a different approach; research less and take a bit more time to immerse myself in local culture, traditions and ways of living, in a sustainable and ethical way.
    I'm passionate about humanitarian assistance, community development and environmental causes but would also like to re-engage with my earlier interests of dance, singing, language learning and sketching.
    I'm interested in sustainable agriculture, cooking, meditation and yoga and feel revitalised when surrounded by nature, engaging with new people, or learning new languages and skills.
    I look forward to connecting with both locals and other travellers in the near future.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I've been involved in the NGO/Community Service sector for over 5 years, both as a volunteer and staff member (Red Cross, Oxfam).
    My passion is humanitarian logistics / emergency response, but I'm taking a sobatical to see some more of the world before my next work assignment.
    I also have about 5 years experience in event management, assisting at and managing farmers markets in Australia, during which time I established a new farmers' market from the ground up. Aside from event logistics and coordination, this included stakeholder relations at all levels, volunteer and stallholder coordination, and marketing and promotions. I really enjoyed providing an opportunity for local farmers to sell their fresh seasonal produce directly to consumers, allowing them to receive a fair price for their labours (instead of through the big supermarket chains or wholesalers).
    During that time I also did brief volunteer stints with food aid programs, assisting with the distribution of rescued food to local organisations and preparing and serving meals for needy people in the community.
    All of my previous roles have required a high level of administration and financial management skills, so I can help in this area also, although I'd prefer to be out and about, engaging with people and the surrounding environment.
    I'd love to learn about the typical local way of life, whether that be traditional or modern. I enjoy learning new languages and cooking methods so feel free to get me in the kitchen!
    I've done WWOOFing (willing workers on organic farms) in the past, on a small rural property in Northern India, a vegan reforestation project in Southern India (Sadhana Forest), and a permaculture farm in Northern Thailand (Tacompai). I'm keen to re-engage with this type of work and to learn more, as last time it was not the season for planting or harvesting so I did other tasks such as cooking and making bamboo structures (although I really enjoyed that also).
    I also have experience in photography (3 yr Bachelor Degree), housekeeping (Canada ski season), hospitality (waitressing) and disability services.

  • Languages spoken

    English, minimal Bahasa Indonesia

  • Age

    36

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I'm meant to avoid wheat, dairy, eggs and bakers yeast but I can eat them in small quantities on occasion and can usually get by (e.g. I try to source my own rice cakes, oats/rice flakes and soy milk for breakfast or just go without)

Photos

Feedback