Jana

From: Czech Republic

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/11/2018 - 22/11/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    249

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello!
    I am Jana, a 33 years old Czech girl currently living my dream in New Zealand. I have been here for over half a year now and have been really happy with my stay so far as I have managed to combine travelling through this amazing country in my car (that I self-converted into my little home on wheels) and occasional shorter-term jobs to be able to fund my travels. I highly appreciate the freedom to be able to move from place to place, to try jobs I have never done and probably never will do again, and to meet (and live with) so many other travellers and locals.
    Travelling has always been my hobby and as I prefer staying longer in one place, I have always tried to combine travelling with studying or working. I spent part of my studies in Spain and Slovenia and worked with children in South Korea, the USA, England, Cyprus, Peru and Poland. I have volunteered before through Work away in a hostel in Bolivia and a Kindergarten in Perú, during my 5-month travel through South America.
    Apart from travelling, my other hobbies are: learning foreign languages, photography, hiking, dancing, cycling, kick-biking, skiing, snorkelling, camping and being outdoors in general.
    I consider myself an independent, flexible and reliable person. I am creative and resourceful. I adapt very easily to new places and situations. I am a friendly kind-hearted person and I enjoy being around others. I am physically fit.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I am a primary school teach specialized in Art. I love doing art activities with children, being creative and reusing and recycling materials in art. I used to teach pottery lessons to children during my university studies. I have experience in teaching languages, too (Czech for foreigners, English, Spanish). I speak 4 languages fluently (Czech, English, Spanish, Polish) and have an intermediate level in German and Greek.
    For the past 5 years I worked as a kindergarten teacher (Cyprus, Poland). I believe this is the right occupation for me as I highly enjoy helping those little people grow, learn, discover and have fun.
    I can teach skiing as I have worked as ski instructor for two winter seasons.
    I am an experienced driver (for 15 years), I own an international driving license and have driven manual and automatic cars, both in right- and left driving countries.
    During my studies I spent 5 summer holidays working at Technical services in my town, the gardening department. My duties were mainly weeding flower beds and watering the plants. It was a very pleasant experience, especially having the chance to be outdoors most of the time. I have also worked as a housekeeper at summer camp in the USA where I was mostly in charge of cleaning the common areas and changing beds. During my university studies I worked part-time in a café and restaurant as a kitchen hand, occasional waitress and a cleaner.
    Here in New Zealand I have worked in the kiwifruit industry as a picker and packer, and also as onion and potato grader for a small farm.
    I would say I am manually skilful as well, I enjoy being crafty around the house. I helped a friend with house reconstruction (mostly painting and cleaning) during my first weeks in New Zealand.

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent in English, Spanish, Czech, Polish; intermediate German, beginner in Greek

  • Age

    33

  • Nationality

    Czech

  • What else ...

    Although I am a teacher and I do love working with children, I would be more than happy to volunteer in other areas, especially hospitality or agriculture, to learn new skills and broaden my horizons. I am not afraid of manual work. I would love to get involved in Art- and Eco projects.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Pumpkin carving for Halloween
cooking club at our kindergarten. making fresh orange juice!
A solo trip to Mexico

Feedback