Jamie

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ireland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/08/2020 - 01/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I'm a Canadian traveling in Ireland with a deep appreciation for fresh water lakes and the smell of woodsmoke. I work hard, appreciate honest conversation and love seeing the stars at night. Music is important to me. And I'm always happy to transform leftovers into unexpected meals. I come from a strong creative background with environmentalist roots and a love for the forest. My strongest desire is to create connections through communities in places that are new to me.

    For the past 10 years I have been working in Toronto's (Canada) film and television industry as a special affects painter. This work has strengthened my desire to engage in collaborative projects and belief in the transformative potential of all kind of environments. I bring an entrepreneurial spirit and rich creativity to all projects and believe that art is a language that transcends cultural barriers. Visit www.jamieashforth.com and www.ashforthpress.com for some specific examples of my work.

    I especially enjoy investing in energy exchanges because they have been amazing opportunities for me to meet new people and immerse myself in new cultures. I volunteered in Feldbach (Switzerland) for two months in 2018 through Workaway and WWOOF'ed (World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms) in British Columbia (Canada), Ontario (Canada) and San Pedro Columbia (Belize) in earlier years. Last year I volunteered at Breathe Yoga Studio in Toronto as well. I have worked in many contexts including physical labour outdoors.

    New places inspire me. I have lived in various parts of Canada, including Montreal (Quebec) and Sackville (New Brunswick). This summer I ventured north and paddled the Yukon River from Whitehorse to Dawson City (i-n-c-r-e-d-b-l-e). My love of travel sparked early international experiences in France, Guatemala, Honduras, Belize, Nicaragua and Indonesia. I've enjoyed exploring Spain, Switzerland and Britain and am now drawn to other parts of Europe...

    Looking forward to meeting you!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Able to teach about: 

    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Art making, Mural Art, Scenic Painting, House Painting, Plastering, Management, Building, Manufacturing, Organizing, Systems Creation, Cooking, Gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    37

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    I am open to exploring new skill sets!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Women's March, Toronto, Canada, January 2018
Tombstone Territorial Park, Yukon, Canada, July 2019
Workaway Sign Painting, Feldbach, Switzerland, May 2018
My art printed on a t-shirt! Love creative collaborations
Recent solo art exhibit, Toronto, Canada, May 2019
Some of the art I make is printed on cards and prints (Ashforth Press).
Some recent pet portraits, 2019
As a Scenic Artist I use paint to mimic real surface textures like marble.
Paddling the Yukon River, Whitehorse to Dawson City, Yukon, Canada, June 2019
Tombstone Territorial Park, Yukon, Canada, July 2019
Niagara Falls! April 2019
The wildness of Switzerland, May 2018
Right up in the Alps, Switzerland, June 2018
Lake Ontario (home).
Ontario cottage country will always be home

Feedback