James

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/01/2019 - 15/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi!
    I'm James, an enthusiastic adventurer who is 19 years old, loves to learn other languages and travel around the world and talking to locals from all over.

    I am English and am on my gap year, before going to study Modern Languages and Linguistics at university, in which I hope to develop my skills in all areas - as an autonomous adult and practical/professional skills.

    My hobbies include playing and listening to music, being and walking in nature (don't get me wrong, I love a good city), photography, travelling and cooking (despite being very very amateur!). I am completely in love with all things European, so to have this opportunity to work anywhere is extremely exciting!

    I really want to improve my french, as I have a fairly decent level already but I want to become fully fluent - I will be studying the language during my time at University, so I want to raise my level as much as possible beforehand - the whole reason I decided to take a gap year was because learning french in a classroom is nowhere NEAR as exciting as learning it in a French-speaking country!

    I also really want to explore France and the rest of 'le monde francophone'. Having lived in the STUNNING Burgundian countryside for three months, I am incredibly excited to explore the cultural differences between France and other francophone countries. Eventually, I would like to branch out to other countries and continents such as Italy and Japan since I have some skills in those languages that I would like to further develop.
    Many thanks for reading my profile and considering me!
    ==============================================
    Coucou!
    Je m'appelle James et je suis en aventurier plein d'enthousiasme qui a 19 ans et qui bien aime apprendre les langues
    étrangères. J'adore aussi voyager le monde et parler avec les locaux partout.

    Je suis Anglais et je suis en année sabbatique avant d'étudier les langues et linguistiques à l'université, dans lequel j'espère me développer dans tous façons - comme une adulte autonome, et mes compétences professionelles et pratiques.

    Mes pastemps préférés comprennent jouer au et écouter de la musique, être et marcher en campagne (mais j'adore aussi être en cité!), faire de la photo et la cuisine (malgré être très très amateur) et bien sûr voyager!

    Je veux devenir très fort en Francais avant d'aller à l'université pour améliorer ma competence pendant les lectures françaises. Le raison pour lequel j'ai decidé de prendre une année sabbatique est que je pense que c'est beaucoup beaucoup plus passionnant d'apprendre le français dans un pays francophone que dans un salle de classe!

    D'explorer la France et le reste du monde francophone, c'est une passion véritable pour moi. Étant donné que j'habite dans le paysage ÉTONNANT bourgognnais depuis 3 mois, j'ai hâte de découvrir le monde francophone et les differences culturelles et linguistiques entre la France et le reste du monde francophone!
    Merci d'avoir lu ma profile et d'avoir me pris en considération!

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have 3 months experience working at a French activity/language centre for British children in France, in which I have experience in teaching, being with kids, cleaning and making beds - to summarise, it is like a mix of a school and a youth hostel, with groups of up to 50 children at once.
    Very very eager to learn new skills. I don't have much experience in general at the moment but given the opportunity, I could learn a lot.
    Out of the skills I do have, my practical skills include listening, following instructions, teamwork, planning and communication.
    My academic skills include learning languages, translation, maths and music. I love to play the trombone and piano - while I am officially grade 5 on both instruments, I can play to a post-grade 8 standard.

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, Moderate Italian, Very basic Japanese.

  • Age

    19

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback