James

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    19/08/2020 - 15/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    Since being a child i have always had a great love for the outdoors and have tried my best to centre my life around spending as much time in nature as possible. I worked for many years as a Kitesurfing instructor in the UK during the summer months and then snowboarding during the winter. Hiking, Mountain biking, Kitesurfing and climbing are some of my favourite pastimes. I have been fortunate to spend a lot of my life travelling and have used Workaway in the past in central and south america and found the process of work exchange extremely wholesome- it feels great to not have everything in life centred around money and offer skills and hard work in order to help others and learn a great deal in the process.

    I am currently travelling around Spain in my Campervan that i have just finished converting myself. I am very interested in alternative ways of living and feel in the future i would like to start some sort of project myself centred around community living, self sustainability, outdoor education/ sports and Permaculture. I feel i really have a lot to offer a project and i have a real willingness to listen, learn and work hard. I'm hoping this current journey into Workaway will give me some insight into my path for the future. I have been vegetarian for almost all my life, i have had a consistent meditation practice for over 7 years now and diet, exercise and positive mindset form the foundation for my life.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    I would like think i have quite a broad range of skills i could offer a project. Although i am not a qualified mechanic or carpenter i have spent most of my life making and mending things, working on cars/motorbikes, i have just finished converting a panel van into a full camper and did everything myself to what i would consider a high standard. Basically im a bit of a jack of all trades and come equipped with quite a lot of my own tools. I love how workaway projects allow me to continually develop my own skills if given the opportunity, im a bit of a perfectionist so might take a bit longer to complete jobs sometimes but always want to produce work to the highest standard.

    Before embarking on this trip i was working as a Mentor at a special educational needs school in the U.K. Here i was working with very challenging behaviour with children aged 11 to 17. The school was heavily focused on outdoor education and i spent a lot of time teaching navigation, mountain biking, climbing, outdoor cooking, bike maintenance, design technology and sailing. I have instructor qualifications in Sailing, Kitesurfing, Mountainbiking, Lowlands leading ,Paddleboarding and Jet skiing.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. Please contact them directly to discuss this with them.

  • Age

    32

  • What else ...

    I love people and have spent my life working in people focused jobs all over the world, so would consider myself quick to integrate within a group. I am very easy going and easy to live with which i know is incredibly important when living in tight knit groups. I also love music and drawing when i have the time.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Pescatarian

Photos

Feedback