Jakob

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    At home


    I am currently at home in the UK. I am hoping to have an adventure within the UK over the summer. I'm interested in a great many activities from sustainability project to helping around the house.

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Jakob and I'm from a town in the south-west of England. I am coming to the end of the first year of my university degree in Politics and am seeking a new adventure (Covid-permitting) over the summer. During my gap year last year I went interrailing around Europe which was a fantastic experience. Subsequently, the Covid pandemic hit and I volunteered as a Covid-19 Tester at a site near my home for two-and-a-half months. I very much enjoyed this as I get a great sense of fulfillment from helping people.
    I'm now looking to explore parts of the UK I do not know well and offer any help to people that is required. I am a thoughtful and easy-going person. I am musical, I love the outdoors, I like meeting new people and enjoy learning new things and new skills. I am looking forward to the new experiences that lie ahead.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Sustainability
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I have worked in a pub as a waiter and in a DIY store as a sales assistant. So, I am confident talking to strangers and have good communication skills. Working in the DIY store also taught me some useful things about general home maintenance.
    I am used to doing household chores such as cleaning, shopping and basic cooking. I can also do gardening - I have recently installed an archway in my garden at home, for example.
    I used to live with a cat and a dog in the house so am happy to live with and look after animals.
    One of my greatest achievements has been taking part in, and completing, an expedition whereby teams of 6 have to navigate, using maps and compasses, their way across moorland, walking a total of 55 miles (90km) over a weekend. This helped me to enhance important skills such as teamwork, communication (I was head of communications), leadership and resilience. It also demonstrates my enjoyment of the great outdoors.
    In the past I have helped out at a parent and toddler group so have some experience looking after children.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Age

    20

  • What else ...

    My favourite sport is badminton. I also enjoy hiking, cycling and paddleboarding. I love music - I can sing and play guitar.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback