Jacob & Nicola

  • United Kingdom & Ireland
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    At home

  • Description

    **COVID-19** We both take the current global health crisis seriously. We will discuss and arrange safe and socially-distanced plans for our arrival with you. Our transport is our campervan which enables us to effectively socially-distance on our journey from Vancouver to your home. We will take all necessary precautions for everyone's safety and well-being.

    Hello there! We're Jacob and Nicola, from the UK and Ireland. We currently live in Vancouver, BC, where we've been since 2019 on an IEC visa. Our DIY-campervan came with us - we shipped her from Liverpool to Halifax and then drove her across this beautiful continent before settling down in BC.

    Through a friend-of-a-friend, we both got work with Discovery Island Organics fruit and veg distributors. Nicola works as a Quality Control Supervisor. I worked as a Picker then, a year ago, I changed jobs and became a part-time community organizer/part-time workers' coop co-owner at a electric cargo-trike delivery company.

    Our work visas are coming to an end in June 2021, but rather than leave this part of the world, we'd love to stay on our visitor's visas and explore! We are both outdoors-people, we're very easy-going but very hard-working, and we're vegans (but flexible). We are both really keen to build on the skills and knowledge of sustainable farming practices, sustainable construction, and general sustainable living.

    Nicola: "After working in the Organic Produce industry for the last two years I am really excited to learn more about organic farming. In particular I would love to get some hands on experience with small scale farming and gain knowledge which I can take forward in the future when hopefully I will have my own small plot of land to grow on. Something else that interests me is woodwork and construction - Jacob and I spent two months in Iceland volunteering in a national park, fixing, building and maintaining hiking paths. It was so wonderful to work outside and learn some completely new skills in construction, so I would love a similar experience to that again."

    Jacob: "I studied French and Politics at university, but so far in life I've found working with my hands - being creative, problem-solving, using my attention to detail to make something that I'm proud of - much more rewarding than whatever career my degree was supposed to land me. I've been lucky enough to travel quite a bit since leaving my hometown of Nottingham: I've traveled from England to East Timor over land and sea; I've taken the Trans-Siberian from Europe to Japan; and I've traveled across South America from coast to coast, on boats up the Amazon. I love experiencing other peoples' ways of life, learning new skills and new perspectives, and trying new foods (I'm yet to come across a single food that I dislike - honestly, I love everything! Except marzipan... I'll happily eat it, I just don't love it). I love music - I play guitar and I'm currently learning to play the double bass."

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Team sports
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Books

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Art Projects
    Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay

    Some knowledge of:  

    Charity Work
    Teaching
    Animal Care
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Nicola and I have lots of experience working outside, working with our hands, and working hard. We met while we were both volunteering at a refugee camp in Northern France, where we cooked and distributed hot meals to displaced and homeless people in the region. We were there for a combined total of over two and a half years.

    Our volunteer coordination and communication skills were spotted by a volunteer who was working with us, and he invited us to take a Team Leader position at a program that he organizes for the Icelandic Forestry Service. For 3 months, we led a team of volunteers doing trail maintenance, trail construction, tree planting and invasive species control.

    I have since worked in construction and trail-maintenance in the UK, where I have built on the skills that I developed in Iceland. I also have experience working on farms in France, New Zealand and Japan, from jobs and Workaways that I have worked in these places - harvesting, orchard-work, cheese-making, firewood chopping and storing, chicken farming, organic farming, and more.

    We both love cooking. We learnt a lot during our time working at Refugee Community Kitchen, where we were always working alongside professional chefs. I also have a lot of experience working in restaurants including, most recently, working as a chef-de-partie at an award-winning restaurant in Glasgow, Scotland.

    While in Vancouver, we have both been working at Discovery Organics fruit and vegetable distribution. We are passionate environmentalists, so we're really eager to learn about sustainable farming and living.

    References are available on request!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Irish: Fluent

  • Age

    30 & 28

  • Nationality

    British & Irish

  • What else ...

    Overall, to summarize, I'd say Nicola and I have personalities that are very well balanced between hard-working and laid back. We love adventure so are up for trying anything and we're very low-maintenance people who enjoy the simple pleasures of life.

    Please don't hesitate to contact us with any questions, requests or offers. We look forward to hearing from you!

    Jacob & Nicola

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      We're vegan, but we're flexible. We can be vegetarian (and eat fish) if that better suits your diet and circumstances

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback