Jael

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/04/2021 - 15/07/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    UPDATE: Currently I have found a nice family to stay with from April until July.

    Dear people,

    My name is Jaël. I am a Dutch young woman looking for a stay in Italy for about 2-3 months, between April and July 2021. It would be a short break from my studies (Pedagogy) and job as a youth coach. I once Workawayed when I was 18 and I got very lucky with a beautiful family. Now I would like to kind of redo this, to travel and find a place to feel at home. I did grow up in the meantime :)

    Italy is, for some reason I still cannot fully fathom, my favorite country in the world. That's why I'm looking for a family in Italy.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I would like to be a nanny/au pair for a family. I'm a babysitter with a big heart for all kids out there. I'm responsible and experienced (+10 yrs of babysitting).

    I'm a calm person. I'm not shy but just not too extravagant. I'm polite (most of the time :) but also direct. The thing I like most, is to come up with fun, creative things to do with children, and then have a good laugh together. With kids I am playful and just myself.

    I don't back down for light household work or running errands. I like cooking a lot. I'm precise and usually quick in the things I do. I can also pick kids up from school/daycare or bring them somewhere. I have a driver's license and I am planning on going to Italy with my car. Since I'm Dutch I'm good with bikes, too.

    Consistent, clear approach to children (though not 'strict') with lots of patience and space for their own opinions. I have experience with innovative, more free forms of education, in which I'm very interested.
    I'm down to earth, I have ideals but I'm more of a realist myself :)

    I like to think I don't treat kids like they're little or less than adults. I try to empathize with them. I would never snap at a child for example, I always try to find ways to talk in a constructive way and make clear rules together. I like to give kids freedom as well as responsibilities, within boundaries.

    I'm experienced with children who need a little bit more attention or knowledge of how to deal with (behavioural problems, eating/sleeping issues, etc.) I like these kind of challenges.

    I study Pedagogy and I'm working now at an organization called FamilySupporters as a youth and family coach. I have helped building a new kind of school for innovative, more free education.

    Though working with families is my everyday job, I'm looking for a place where I can just be the au pair and be with the kids :). I do like to have a good talk every now and then about how things are going. When I was a nanny before, I found it very useful and enriching to speak openly about everyone's expectations, experiences and needs.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I like to speak Italian to learn it more, especially with kids because it's less scary :) But I can also speak English or Dutch. I speak them both fluently.

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    I have studied Italian a little bit over the years. I think I am now on the level of A2-B1, quindi sono abbastanza capace di esprimermi in italiano :) I'm a bit shy in talking Italian, però lo capisco bene.

    I like working in gardens or doing house work like building/fixing something. I'm handy and willing, but not very experienced. So I'll need guidance in any of these task. I'm a fairly good cleaner though.

    In my daily life I like to be outside. I live from day to day, cook, be with friends, think, talk, listen to music and read. I like to sing, in choirs or just all day, out loud :)
    I'm not extremely sporty, but I like to run and take walks every once in a while and in winter I do skiing.
    And I really love dogs.

    I like to live day by day and I feel very privileged to do so.


    NB: Profile says I'm a smoker. But I don't smoke a lot and if this bothers you, I can keep it to a minimum. I never smoke with kids present anyway.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Cat hairs, but not very much. I can be around cats, just have to wash my hands before touching my eyes.

    • Special dietary requirements
      Nope, I love and eat basically everything. I try to eat more vegetarian, though I'm not very strict. For example a slice of mortadella - I just can't resist.

Photos

Feedback