Jade & Oonagh

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Austria, Bhutan, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Nepal, Norway, Peru, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/09/2017 - 02/09/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    556

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We are a couple and so far we’ve been workawaying for about 5 months, helped at some amazing places and made many friends along the way.
    Before we set off on our travels OonagH worked as an artist assistant for a contemporary sculptor constructing large scale, delicate artworks, and I worked on a small urban farm tending to the animals, the garden and baking for the farm's cafe.
    We are most happy when outdoors, enjoying fresh air & nature. When we aren't at work we spend a lot of time on our allotment which you can see in some of our photos. When we took it on it was pretty much scrubland covered in glass and bricks but after some hard work we've transformed into a great little growing space.
    We like recycling and repurpose old pallets and reclaimed bits of wood to make raised beds and planters and are collecting materials to make a poly tunnel on our plot before winter arrives. We are learning lots on our allotment and it has given us a passion to learn more about different types of farming and working the land. We aren't shy of some good hard work.
    When we aren't at our allotment we enjoy cooking, reading, painting, photography, dancing, music and spending time with friends.
    We are keen to experience farming on a larger scale and learn about different models of organic farming and sustainability, working somewhere with animals would be a bonus. Also interested in construction/building work on work away trips. If you'd like to know more feel free to get in touch!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    - Animal Care (Goats, Cows, Pigs, Sheep, Chickens, Dogs, Cats) Feeding, walking, mucking out, applying pest treatment, tic removal.
    - Barn restoration - Mixing cement, laying foundation, laying garden paths, re-pointing stonework
    - Property Maintenance & repairs Gardening - House and Pool Cleaning. Painting & decorating, sanding and wood preparation
    - Sowing, using a rotavator, planting, weeding, vegetable and fruit picking. Strimming, mowing, hedgecutting, laying garden paths, making hay.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    30 & 38

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    We only get to add so many destinations to our profile but if you don’t see your location on our list it doesn’t mean we wouldn’t want to visit and help out at your place! :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Treating the chickens with diatomaceous earth
The farm's first spring lamb of 2017 :)
Top multitasking
Sow happy ;)
Nice little harvest
Using a rotavator to prepare the ground for planting
Made it to the top of Mount Fuji in time to catch the sunrise
Before and after shots of our allotment

Feedback