Jacquelin

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, United States, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    29/12/2014 - 01/01/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    After raising two wonderful, now-grown daughters and having a successful sign & graphic company for 28 years, I found myself reinventing my life.
    I recently returned to the USA from traveling South America for the past few years, in the spirit of vagabonding, visiting indigenous tribes and learning of plant medicines. My diet is typically vegetarian; however, while on the road I eat the regional food offered.
    My first workaway experience took me to a farm in the jungle town of Hana on Maui, Hawai'i. I spent half a year living in a tent, happily working with the plants and doing logo design work.
    I have since traveled to Mexico, Guatemala and Costa Rica trading graphic art work, fabricating a new sign by hand in a little village, doing construction and room design along with hospitality in hostels.
    My most recent travel took me to Indonesia speaking and practicing English with elementary, middle school children and high school Travel Industry students.
    My interest with Workaway.info is to allow me to live and work while learning new skills, meet interesting people and explore our amazing world.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching
  • What skills do you have?

    Graphic artist, muralist, faux-finisher, sign maker, writer, editing, marketing, traveler, plant medicines, healthy nutrition habits, aromatherapist, love animals, very interested in learning about farming and beekeeping, have many years of experience in the food industry, doll-maker, and am an avid researcher.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    3

  • Nationality

    United States Citizen

  • What else ...

    For enjoyment I dance, do my own version of stretch/meditative yoga, drum, kayak, snorkel, hike, travel, sit & read, visit live music festivals, art shows and museums.


    Recommendation Letter:

    To Whom it may Concern,

    I have know Jacquelin "Denise" Davis for almost 5 years. During this time she has worked, in between adventures with my family. The services provided to me have ranged from house cleaning, responsilibilies with my dog and cat, moving homes and setting up. There isn't anything I have needed that didn't get done, and most without directions.

    Most recently I needed, quite spur of the moment help with my elderly Mother (90) while still independent, she now needs help. Jacquelin stayed with my Mother on several 5 -10 days trips. (ONE included a hurricane!!) I was from 30,000 feet making suggestions for things that may need attention, after the last long-winded text, I read the response. "Don't worry about anything, I have it handled." True to her word, I returned to a home (with no trace of hurricane), my house was immaculate.

    Jacquelin ran my household with efficiency, and most important, she is kind to my Mother. My Mom who can be a challenge enjoys spending time with Jacquelin, if it weren't oversimplify the tasks, She is the best babysitter. To all of my animals, and Mom. She is honest, good natured, easy going, smart, and patient with my Mom AND husband!

    I look forward to her return to my town, because I dont' worry about anything while she is here.

    Regards,

    Cynthia Benedetto
    Jupiter, Florida

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

in Tena, Ecuador at the home of Yatchak Don Luis.
on the road...
sample of work I've done, a portrait of 'Miss Moo'
faux-finished wood grain table and benches
sandblasted, hand-painted sign
sandblasted, hand-painted sign
another sandblasted and hand-painted sign

Feedback