Jacob

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (6)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    New Zealand
    View all
  • Description

    My name is Jacob and I am currently 19 years old. I have just received my Associates Degree this last spring, and given I am unsure of what I want to do in the future, I hope to utilize Workaway to explore the world, meet a diversity of people, discover new cultures, and dip my feet into various work experiences. I was born in England, but brought to the U.S. at a young age to find home in Washington State, where I continue to reside. Being a product of a cross-cultural marriage and having grown up in the Pacific Northwest, I have naturally fell in love with outdoor exploration, meeting new people, activity, and travel.

    I have a deep passion for almost anything outdoors, including hiking, mountain biking, running, snowboarding, soccer, and tennis. I also enjoy playing guitar, photography, videography, and following professional sports. I would consider myself an introverted but eager individual who is detail-oriented, hardworking, and always willing to learn.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Writing
    Photography

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I graduated High School in the Spring of 2020, and received my Associates degree from my local community college in March of 2021, maintaining a high GPA during that time. I am planning on continuing my college education in the Fall of 2022, and in the meantime would like to use Workaway to facilitate a budget friendly gap year.

    I worked at a local used sporting goods store, Play It Again Sports, for about two and a half years as a sales associate, which honed my social skills, taught me about customer service, as well as everything that goes into running a small business. After receiving my degree I wanted a change, and ventured on my first Workaway to the U.S. Virgin Islands for two months. This experience bolstered my ability to work in a team, taught me to compromise, and reinforced my love for travel and working outdoors. It also provided me with practice operating a variety of vehicles and tools, as well as additional practice with cleaning, general maintenance, and landscaping.

    Since this trip I started working my current job at a shed-building company, where I help frame, paint, and roof sheds with all kinds of dimensions and add-ons. I continue to love working in a physical environment in which I learn new, practical construction skills on an hourly basis.

    I speak English and a very limited amount of French, and would be happy to help teach people English while I travel.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    20

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback