Jackie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, New Zealand, Panama, Puerto Rico, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, United States, Virgin Islands (U.S.)

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2019 - 01/12/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    My motto: “I want to live the width of my life not just the length of my life”.
    I recently returned to Mainland USA, after living on the Big Island of Hawaii for 4 years. After a 32-year job with the government, I went to Hawaii through workaway to work on a coffee farm. I fell in love with the island, it’s cultureand people, and stayed.
    My most recent part-time job was a history docent/tour guide at Hulih’e palace (former summer home of Hawaiian royalty). I loved visiting with tourists and sharing Hawaiian history with them.
    I am a positive, new retiree, with a good attitude and genuine work ethic who enjoys, "living her life rather than just existing in it". I have raised 4 children. I hav had a long career with Washington state in a program for victims of crime (social work). I think I am on the planet to "make a difference".
    I enjoy teaching English, cooking, baking, gardening, photography, travel, meeting new people and learning about other cultures, activities with my grandchildren (bicycle riding, picnics, lite hikes, campfires, crafts, travel, attending their soccer games etc), family time, Hawaiian dance class, gentle yoga, water aerobics, writing and laughing.
    I love gardening and birds. I have created a cottage garden that appeals to hummingbirds, butterflies and bees. Nature's sustainability is important to me.
    I would enjoy being a companion or nanny sharing English, and interacting with pleasant people especially multi-generational families. Having experienced a government career while raising four children at the same time as a single parent, I understand the importance of multi-tasking, taking the initiative and follow through In a pleasant manner with a positive attitude, patience and laughter.
    My 31+ year career necessitated being very good at customer service, problem solving, as well as treating others with dignity. That is what I can offer you. I undstand the importance of taking the initiative and following through on a task. I know how to stay busy.
    And while I enjoy my I-Phone, social media/texting, I know how to live my life without it.
    I would prefer a situation where I have my own room. Really who wouldn't? But I am open to a shared experience. Our housing on the coffee farm was shared housing and that worked out fine. We were a multigenerational group of women living in a small ca in, on bunk beds, who got on well, laughed and bonded.
    I have spent my life raising four amazing people and being a "Gma" to 7, wonderful grandchildren (I consider them my precious treasures). I enjoy children and creative interaction.
    Besides my state job that a social program of benefits for victims of crime, I have worked as an apprentice painter, drove dump truck, been a paralegal and administrative assistant and worked at the cafe counter at a Christmas holiday zoo light event. I am happiest in a pair of jeans.
    If you want a young, party person, I wouldn't be a good fit. If you prefer drama-free, no hidden agenda, strong customer service skills or calm, solution-based, initiative to do whatever needs to be done next, and reliability, we could be a good fit. I enjoy multigenerational energy.
    I am so excited to be starting another new chapter of my life. Will I be a part of yours? My life and career experience has enabled me to develop a skill set that would be a contribution to many situations.
    Life is about the journey, not the destination.
    If you have dismissed me or my profile due to my retiree age, or, because you don't see the skill set you need listed above, please contact me to a discuss. Life, raising a family, having worked hard for a lifetime, creates many assets that can contribute your home or business. The profile for a workaway is the tip of the iceberg. There is much more to us than what we have listed here.
    I
    would like to have a Facebook video chat or Skype interaction with perspective hosts.
    Jackie Kaitlyn

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Teaching American English, meal preparation, chauffeur, customer service, tour guide, organizing, child care, gardening, and taking the initiative to complete whatever needs to be done next. Dependability, honesty, integrity aren't a skill set per se. But practicing dependability, honesty and integrity on a daily basis is as important as any skill set.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    69

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    Honest, reliable, dependable, healthy emotionally and physically, problem solver, laughs easily and often, appreciative of my life, empathetic.

    *️Note: I am older. Think of an active, engaging, positive, healthy, grandma with a lot of life experience.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

I love outdoor activities. Taken 06/15.
Taken on the coffee farm in Hawaii 08/15.
I am selling organic dog treats at the Keauhou Farmer’s Market on the Big Island of Hawaii. Taken May of 2019.
Enjoying a winter sunset trip to the beach In Kailua-Kona. I always take a bag and make a point to pick up garbage. We all need to do our part to keep the earth beautiful.
Enjoying my coffee, checking on the dryness of the coffee beans. (Nov 2018).
That is my horse. 😂 I am dressed up for a costume party. Take in October 2018.

Feedback