Jack

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bulgaria, Cambodia, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/07/2020 - 31/01/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello everyone!

    I’m Jack, a 23-year-old writer and small business owner from England.

    Covid-19 has caused my events-management company to cease operations for the foreseeable future, so I have decided to spend some time travelling Europe and Asia while working on my novel.

    My plans are to workaway in Andalusia for a few months and then in Bulgaria (once the two-week quarantine is dropped) until the end of the year, when I’ll be flying to Cambodia (providing it’s opened back up).

    I am hardworking, curious, sociable, and a pretty good cook! I usually eat meat, but I lived in a vegan household for a year and so I know a bunch of great vegan dishes.
    In the past I have travelled around the UK, Italy and the Netherlands, however, I have always tended to stay in hotels and am now looking for a more authentic experience of the places I’m visiting.
    I would like to stay with open minded people who will share recipes and stories with me, but won’t be offended if I spend a large proportion of my spare time working on my novel.

    I am very interested in history and politics. I am a bit of a board game enthusiast. I enjoy watching comedians and listening to music: Soul, Motown, Blues, and Roots Reggae being among my favourite genres, though my taste is quite eclectic. I will be travelling with a modest backpackers camping set and intend to hike through some of the Sierra Nevada and Central Balkan National Parks.

    I have been browsing workaway for the last few months and have discovered such a wide range of things that I would love to do. I am particularly interested in visiting rural locations, learning about permaculture, working on vineyards, farms, and eco projects, teaching English, and working with animals in any setting. I also wish to spend some time in the cities and have been looking at hostel workaways, in which I would favour any customer-facing role, especially as a tour guide!


    Well, that feels like a decent summary of me and my situation. I’ll keep updating my profile as and when things come to me, but if there’s any information you’d like to know then please feel free to ask!

    Thank you for reading!

    Jack

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping around the house
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    I spent some time working for a tree surgery company and so have some experience cutting down small trees and clearing large areas of bush and shrubbery. I am also a competent gardener and enjoy working outside.

    I am finishing my advanced TEFL course as we speak. I’m doing this so I can volunteer at English language schools in Cambodia next year, but I would be more than happy to teach English to anyone who is willing to learn in the meantime. In return, I would be very grateful for anything you’re willing to teach me in your own language!

    I used to work for the educational inequality charity TeachFirst and have lots of experience designing educational workshops for children aged 6 to 16, particularly in the subjects of science and history — I would be very excited to work on any related projects.

    I also managed a fundraising office for TeachFirst which, alongside my more recent work as the managing director of my own events management company, has given me a wealth of experience in everything from the logistics of organising an event for tens, hundreds, or thousands of people, right through to the marketing campaign needed to execute an event successfully. I appreciate that these are perhaps not the most marketable skills during this current crisis, but I would be happy to assist with the planning of any events you might be thinking about holding in the future, including developing a marketing strategy.

    Even if I don’t have the skills at first, I’m willing to put the time in to learn! I am a determined and enthusiastic person and I always give everything 100%!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    24

  • What else ...

    I have an Instagram account to document my travels. Feel free to have a look!

    Jack.richard.wilson

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback