Jaap

  • Netherlands
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Jaap de Visser I'm 21 years of age, and I was born and raised in Nieuwe-Tonge, wich is a small town in the Netherlands. I have a little niece (1'5) and nephew(4) and i love to spend time with them. I'm someone who likes to help people. And that's something I hope to do during my time abroad.

    I spent the last 5 years working in a bakery, and in those years I've come to the conclusion that that's not for me. To find out what I want to do with my life, I'd like to get some experience by working abroad. In that experience I'm looking for a lot of different things, for example I'd like to learn a new language. But also I am interested in getting to know new people, and also I'd like to know how life is in another country, and get to know another culture. But one of the things I hope for is that I'm able to figure out what I want to do with the rest of my life. Since I graduated my education for working in the bakery, I've been trying to figure out what job I can see myself doing in the future.

    In my spare time I do like to keep myself busy with sports. That is both in watching, but also in being active myself. Most of the time that is running a few times a week, but due to a injury I'm not able to do that as much as I'd like.
    Beside that i train with a club that teaches various forms of fighting sports/arts. The first sport they teach is Kyukushinkai Karate, that is the sport I enjoy most of them. But beside that I also follow more of the lessens like boxing, kickboxing and yawara ju jutsu wich is a form of self defense. And when they need some help at the club I'd like to volunteer my time.

  • Interests

    Adventure sports
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Life at a Farmstay
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I've got five years experience working in a bakery, one of the things I've learned is hard work. I also have some experience in gardening, most of it is from maintaining my grandmothers garden for a few years. Even tough I don't have a lot of experience with it I do like to work with children. I am a responsible person, which is something else I've learned while working in the bakery.
    While growing up I have learned some basic technical stuff, most of it from my father he hat worked in technic his hole life. And thanks to him I have a basic understanding of it.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    pre corona, i worked the winter season in a hotel in Winterberg, Germany. that is an experience I really liked. and I would love to do something like that again, as soon as my current situation allows it.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback