Jordan

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/09/2017 - 31/12/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    141

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    At home

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    //(Updated September 2019)//

    To appreciate the opportunities of each new day (be it through hard work or deep relaxation) and not waste myself in idleness and unconsciousness - this is my Workaway dream.

    Curious and open minded, I started using Workaway in 2017 and have previous experiences with 20 different Workaway projects and communities across Italy, Ireland, Germany, Morocco, Portugal and Wales.

    Highlight experiences from former Workaway projects include:

    ->> Multiple eco-building (cobb, rammed earth, strawbale) and construction projects (new-build and restoration works) requiring the safe and proper use of both light and heavy tools (nail gun / power saw / table saw / chainsaw / etc) and collaboration in working groups of up to twenty or more volunteers.

    ->> Community support and development for Ashrams / Retreat Centres / Alternative Healing Spaces / Eco-villages.

    ->> Multiple agriculture and livestock management projects ranging from permaculture land development and stable work to snail farming in Ireland and shepherding in Tuscany (experience with dogs / poultry / sheep / goats / pigs / horses / donkeys / cattle)

    ->> English tuition in Milan, Italy / English Teaching Support in Fes, Morocco.

    ->> Other mixed responsibilities including: landscape architecture; grounds keeping; home maintenance; childcare for children between two and thirteen.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    >>PHYSICAL FITNESS
    I have enjoyed the art of lifting heavy objects from the floor and replacing them in the exact place I found them (weightlifting, gymnastics and bodyweight training) for the last seven years and would be delighted to share my fitness knowledge and coaching experiences to support your own health goals if requested!

    >>CONSTRUCTION
    From lumber-jacking through the chestnut forests of rural Tuscany to constructing chicken coops and up-cycled greenhouses on small family farmsteads, I am an adaptable labourer with a varied practical skillset and experiences in many types of construction.

    I have been involved in large scale construction projects involving both professional construction equipment and natural materials and would savour the opportunity to partner with knowledgeable hosts who are willing to teach me more about practical utilities such as bricklaying, plumbing, electrics, plastering, eco-building etc.

    >> ACADEMIC BACKGROUND AND CORPORATE EXPERIENCES:
    I graduated from the University of Birmingham with a History degree in 2017, and have taught History in both high school and university settings with one-on-one student mentoring and lecture hall experiences. I have a passion for ideas and enjoy reading and researching different topics while travelling.

    I have also spent four months employed as an archivist and records administrator for the National Trust, the UK’s largest conservation charity, and hold a keen interest in natural conservation.

    >>HEALTH AND SPIRIT
    I first found myself in a spiritual commune with twelve Buddhist monks during the aftermath of a particularly devastating breakup several years ago... and have remained engaged with a variety of self-exploration and mindfulness practices such as silent retreats and intermittent Ashram living since then.

    I am far from a Zen master, but cherish the process of unfolding discovery and would delight in the opportunity to discuss meditative practices with hosts who are similarly invested in spiritual and religious disciplines.

    >>READING, WRITING AND OTHER ASSORTED INTERESTS
    I am an avid reader and lifelong learner who gravitates towards hosts with an interest in weird and wonderful ideas.

    Some areas I am interested in right now: classical poetry; archetypal psychology and mythical traditions; religious/spiritual instruction; the Western canon; health optimisation and general longevity techniques such as daily fasting, plant-based diets and neural rewiring etc.

    I am also working on a body of short stories and poetry which I currently publish online but intend to push towards print-publish by the end of 2020.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    BONUS POINT: I would be delighted to make use of my £45,000 worth of crippling student debt to write marketing material, personal pleasantries and aimless poetry at your request...

    Like this:

    THE STONESMITH AND HIS SON (13 . 03 . 19)

    The Stonesmith brushed his calloused hands,
    and marvelled at his finished throne:
    "What wonders wake when sight commands,
    these time-worn tools on sleeping stone!"

    With glee, he knelt at workshop beams,
    amidst the shards of former friends,
    the decade dust of sculpted dreams,
    the shards of stones and men who bend.

    His Son, meanwhile, slumped through the door,
    one weary arm crossed at his crown,
    in heart and hand he lived so poor,
    dulled was the faith behind his frown.

    The Stonesmith caught the sullen air,
    and turned towards the rays of dawn,
    his past proved hope could calm despair,
    and skill would bloom in time yet worn.

    He found his boy between the beams,
    and pressed their brows in soft embrace,
    like tinder grasp before light gleams,
    although they wept, his voice held grace:

    "Refinement flows with days that burn,
    but love, my Son, is while we learn."

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Feedback