Jack

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    09/10/2019 - 30/04/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I am an energetic, ethusiastic and hard working person who also knows how and when to relax and enjoy myself. For the last 4 years I have been studying marine biology at university and therefore have a deep connection with the ocean and animals that goes back as far as I can remember! I am very interested in sports as well, having played football and rugby at a high level in school and at university. My love of scuba diving is one of the main reasons for my interest in travelling, but at the same time my desire to understand and immerse myself in different cultures, through learning the language and traditions is also causing me great excitement! Let the adventures begin :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have recently graduated from the University of Southampton as a Master in Marine Biology. Over the last 4 years I have developed my knowledge about the environment and learned to think with a conservational perspective. For this reason, many of the volunteering opportunities that I am attracted to have been in some way related to benefitting the local environment, introducing sustainability to an area or working with animals. With the skills and attitude towards the environment that I have gained from my university experience, I would love to put myself to good use on a project or in a position that I really believe in!

    Over my last five summers I have worked within a team, as a manager and as a House Parent, at two different language schools in the UK (Ardmore & Etherton Education).
    My role within the team was to teach English sports to students from a wide range of foreign nationalities, ageing between 7-17 yrs. This role required me to be very active, ethusiastic and patient, so that every student was able to understand and improve during my sessions, whilst also being engaged and - most importantly - having fun!
    After enjoying this job for 3 years with Ardmore, I moved on to Etherton Education where I was coordinating a team of 12 young adults whose duties were similar to that of my role with Ardmore. The managerial role required a greater level of responsibility and professionalism from me, as well as the use of my experience to guide others to success.
    Lastly, I took on the role of House Parent which meant I was responsible for the wellbeing of about 40 international male students during their stay on the boarding house at Etherton Education.
    One of the key aspects of my previous experience is my ability to communicate and work with people who do not have English as their first language. Whilst travelling I will be able to use this and the other skills that I have gained to help and teach others and continue to develop myself.

    In the UK I have completed some basic first aid training so could be of use in a medical emergency.
    I am currently completing an English teaching qualification (TEFL) which will add further quality to my communication skills and qualifies me to teach English in foreign schools.
    My interest in sporting activities has insured that I am in good phyiscal condition and therefore will be capable of completing any manual tasks that may be required.

  • Languages spoken

    English, French, German

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    I am always happy when playing sports! My particular sporting interests are in football, basketball, rugby, tennis, golf and sometimes yoga to relax. Watersports are also a passion that I wish to continue, specifically scuba diving (in which I have an advanced PADI qualification) and surfing, where I also try to take photos and videos on my GoPro camera. I am also a music lover and have been playing the drums since I was 8 years old. Some of my best memories come from visiting British music festivals with friends :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback