James

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/12/2019 - 01/09/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello, I'm James
    I'm from Britain and I am travelling to meet people and get involved with their culture. I'm from the north of England where there's lots of hills and rain, but this means the community is very close, friendly and welcoming and I hope people see this in me when I meet them.
    I really enjoy spending time outside (especially if it's not raining!) and love getting to know a landscape and how that shapes the lives of people who live there.
    I am very lucky to live in a place with lots of climbing and mountain biking and have been brought up in a family that enjoys sharing experiences outdoors (normally getting wet and cold together then falling asleep by the fire afterwards).

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I'm a keen learner and am always interested in learning new skills and techniques. I've spent the first six months of this trip doing lots of strimming, some chainsaw work, land clearance, and learning a bit about watering systems for growing veggies on permaculture farms.
    I'm writing this in the house I helped my Dad build, and I'm not averse to a bit of hard graft and effort when it's needed, and I've been riding and fixing bicycles since I was young.
    I have spent the last two years working at a kids high ropes course and get on very well with children. I have worked in a college before so have some skills at teaching and I'm very happy to help people practice their English.
    I cook several times a week at home and really enjoy cooking with other people and discovering new dishes and ways to enjoy food!
    I would like to learn more about growing my own food and permaculture as well.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    23

  • What else ...

    I make a great cup of tea!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback