Jenny & Oliver

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/01/2019 - 26/07/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello! First of all thank you for looking at our profile. We're planning to travel around New Zealand for the year and are hoping to do some work exchanges while we travel, learning new skills along the way.
    Jenny:
    I'm a web developer from Scotland, currently based in Gisborne, NZ. I'm a keen climber (indoors and outdoors), snowboarder and surfer and enjoy being in the outdoors. I also love music, anything from classical to jazz to rock, and play the piano. Having grown up with lots of dogs, cats and assorted animals, I absolutely love them and am happy to be around pretty much anything.
    Ollie:
    I've spent the past few years all over the UK meeting lovely people and working a great variety of jobs. I'm a graduate of the extremely fun Surf Science and Technology from Plymouth University along with competing with Plymouth Uni surf team. I'm relaxed, always ready for a challenge, and love designing and making everything from sketches to buildings.
    I'm at home outside, in the water, or on the rock face.
    We look forward to meeting you!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    While travelling together we've worked in a few differnet places: a ski hotel and restaurant in the Austrian Alps (Ollie as sous chef, barman and transfer driver, Jenny as bar staff, waitress and Barista), a surf and yoga hostel in the Algarve (renovating a rather dilapidated house and garden and creating artwork for the hostel), and a surf shop in St. Ives, Cornwall (customer service).
    Jenny:
    I have extensive experience designing and building websites, having worked at a Digital Agency for the past 2 years. I also have experience with digital marketing, graphic design and email and website maintenance.
    Previously I worked as a cleaner, dish washer, physics and maths tutor, babysitter and customer service adviser. While travelling solo I spent a month volunteering in a B&B in Ireland (washing dishes, cleaning rooms and checking people in), worked in a surf hostel in Baleal, Portugal (cleaning rooms, making breakfast and checking in guests) and volunteered on a farm in Norway (looking after animals, weeding and some light construction work).
    I'm always happy to learn new skills and improve old ones, at the moment I'm trying to improve my drawing skills and learning to bake.
    At the moment I'm working as a kitchen hand and waitress in Gisborne.
    Ollie:
    I'm currently working for Lost NZ and Tommy Dalton surfboards as a surfboard glasser in Gisborne.
    In the UK I split my time between making and repairing surfboards, and building bespoke websites. I'm a bit of a handyman and can fix and build most things, I'm skilled in woodwork, electrics, a bit of plumbing, general maintenance, and even some automotive repairs. I've worked on surfboards for Neal Purchase Jnr, Beau Young and Gary McNeill and always happy to impart some knowledge if you're interested.
    I'm always keen to learn new skills and happy to get stuck in with any work. Jenny and I have built websites for surf shops, travel companies etc and specialise in start-ups looking to build their brand and grow their audience.
    I'm easy going and hard working, enjoy surfing, music and cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    English, basic French

  • Age

    26 & 27

  • Nationality

    Scottish

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback