From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Finland, Greece, Italy, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/12/2014 - 31/12/2017

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer

  • Description


    Born and educated in London, England, my parents owned a boarding house so I am used to living amongst people of other cultures and helping them during their stay.

    I became a holistic therapist 27 years ago and I spent 5 years in Mallorca, Spain where I helped to manage a healing and retreat centre focused on creative expression where the work also included care of the finca and estate, housekeeping, permaculture, gardening, caring for chickens, orchards etc. I also gave talks, workshops and courses in Aromatherapy in Spanish as well as in English.

    Prior to that I worked on a film, in animation, office work, as partner and chef in a restaurant and was a member in a workers' co-operative wholefood shop and restaurant in Manchester in the late 70´s where my interest in healthy eating and lifestyle began. I love cooking and baking and enjoy housekeeping which in the past has included childcare. I also work at a local gallery stewarding and helping with tourists' enquiries. Presently I am concentrating on painting and ceramic work.

    I enjoy teaching conversational English to children and adults of any age, and make sure they get lots of practice whilst involving them in fun activities. I am told that I communicate well.

    For four years I worked as a volunteer at the Tate Gallery in St Ives as part of the Family Learning Team and enjoy involvement in art with children. Helping at times with costume making and on-site catering for a local theatre group has been great fun and I enjoy working in teams as well as on my own.

    Currently I volunteer weekly at a community gardening project helping to grow and sell organic vegetables, promote healthy eating and where I am learning about Organic Horticulture and Permaculture. I also like to contribute to projects through cooking. I am interested in learning about community life and have enjoyed short stays at co-housing projects.

    I like being active, walking, folk dancing, body boarding, swimming, sewing, arts and crafts, Yoga and related activities and enjoy peaceful places close to nature when possible. I have two daughters and a grandson and now that I have more flexibility I enjoy the opportunity to travel and work whilst meeting new people, learning about their way of life and sharing skills.


  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Cooking (mainly vegetarian and vegan)
    Housekeeping and general light maintainance
    Art and craft
    Aromatherapy, Reflexology and holistic therapies
    Gardening (light gardening)
    Gallery customer assistant
    Restaurant work

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, some French, some Polish

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • What else ...

    I am also interested in sustainable living, co-housing groups, eco-centres and smallholdings where vegetables are grown.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian/vegan and also eat fish