Iona & Tal

From: United Kingdom & Israel

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2019 - 01/12/2019


  • Description

    We are Iona and Tal and we are a Scottish/ Israeli couple trying to see every beautiful corner of New Zealand in just one year! We met working at a summer camp in the United States back in 2013, and have been adventuring together ever since.
    Tal
    I'm handy and hardworking and I'll take any opportunity to get outdoors that comes my way! I am a qualified climbing instructor, a youth group leader and an experienced outdoor education instructor. Recently I worked coordinating a branch of a national youth group aimed at getting kids outdoors and teaching stewardship and conservation. I've also spent time working for my family's contracting company, doing basic construction and office installation, and I even fitted out our (not so) new camper van from our friend's garage! I can also turn my hand to odd jobs around a farm. When I'm not at work I'm usually hiking, rock climbing, or trying to get up on my surf board! I am also a keen amateur photographer and have my camera with me wherever I go. Just now I'm studying for a joint degree in Biology and Education to further my goal of teaching as many people about the natural world around us as possible!
    Iona
    I'm a typical Scot- practical, good humoured and not afraid of getting my hands dirty! I'm very determined and resilient and love trying (and mastering!) new things! I like to think i'm pretty handy and I always try my best with D.I.Y- though I am still learning! I've been working with young children for years and have been a drama and dance teacher, a nanny, an outdoor ed. instructor and a teaching assistant for primary and kindergarten. Like Tal I'm hugely outdoorsy and would spend all my time in the fresh air if I could! However, my first and truest passion is animals, and more specifically horses. I've worked in barns, taught young beginners, guided trails and volunteered for Riding for the Disabled and an Equine Assisted Learning programme for vulnerable children. Currently I am writing my BSc Psychology thesis on the impact of horse ownership on a person's well-being and emotional health and already have my sights set on a Masters in Animal Psychology and Behaviour.

    We both dream of one day owning our own sustainable lifestyle property, creating a haven for down on their luck animals and a place where we can grow nutritious food and live in an environmentally responsible way. We have many ideas for a model of living and working where we can merge our passions and skills for education, the natural world and animals and pass our knowledge and passion on to others. We hope that by participating in Workaway we will meet like minded people, learn something new and get some inspiration :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - Working with children
    - Animal care
    - Equine care
    - Cooking
    - Agriculture experience
    - D.I.Y
    - Good spoken and written communication
    - Experience in client facing roles

    - Shed loads of patience, resilience and good humour!

  • Languages spoken

    Iona- English, Tal- English and Hebrew

  • Age

    24 & 28

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Tal is a certified abseiling instructor, as well as a climbing instructor and high ropes course manager!
We both worked in an Outdoor Education centre where part of the job was caring for a range of wacky, wonderful animals!
A winter riding lesson :)
Iona is trained to handle and care for raptors like Scarlet the red- tailed hawk!

Feedback