Imogen

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (17)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    France - from Apr 2022 until Jul 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hi! My name is Imogen, I'm 19 years old and from the United States. I'm taking this year off studying to travel and gain new cultural experiences. I started traveling September of 2021 and plan to fly home this Summer.

    For the final leg of my trip (April - July 2022), I'd like to prioritize learning French through Immersion. Right now I have a higher comprehension level than speaking, but I think I'd be able to communicate (definitely would need patience!)

    I love reading, writing, photography, and cooking (I cook for every holiday at my house!). I'd love to learn about my host's culture as much as I can during my workaway, especially regarding language and food. As per covid safety, I am fully vaccinated and am happy to test before my arrival.

    I've also lived in a small house with 8 people and two dogs my whole life, so I'm very comfortable and used to sharing space with others.

  • Interests

    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography
    Cooking & food
    LGBTQ
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    History
    Self development
    Events & social

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Language practice
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Teaching
    General Maintenance
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Animal Care

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    My work experience includes food service, in which I cleaned, cooked, and helped customers, as well as babysitting, which I did for 2 years, 3x a week.

    During my time babysitting over the past two years, I watched three children, currently aged 3, 5, and 9, for three days a week (and sometimes more when the parents requested). In addition to watching the kids, I helped them with schoolwork, prepared food, and cleaned. During my food service Job, at a burger shop, I learned a great deal about customer service. I also received training in meal preparation/cooking and cleaning, and can operate machinery if needed. I know how to drive, am fluent in English (my native language), and have experience teaching the language.

    This past year I ran my school's newspaper, so I can help with writing and design if needed.

    Since traveling I've gained experience in teaching English to adults and children, childcare (watching 2 children aged 4 & 5), gardening and garden planning/building, DIY and housecare, arts & crafts, life off the land, animal care (goats, chickens, dogs), running events with large groups of children, and renovation work.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I'd love to learn Spanish and Hebrew and better my French skills. I plan on trying to learn some of the language of wherever I stay. I can teach and help with English as well!

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    19

  • What else ...

    It's important for me that hosts are queer/LGBT+ friendly

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Cats and Horses

    • Special dietary requirements
      I mostly eat vegetarian & do not eat pork or shellfish

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback