Courtney

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica

  • ...

    Travel dates

    21/01/2021 - 01/03/2022

  • Badges


  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I never know where to start in introducing myself, so I’ll start with a little bit about me: I’m an artist that uses three tools: sunlight, a magnifying glass & wood, I’m a foodie, I love listening to soulful music, I love to go for walks, I love building things with my hands, I love gardening, I practice composting and I innately sway towards repurposing, reusing and using second hand before buying new.

    I prefer to drink coconut water or eat fruit before going for a glass of water.

    I enjoy sharing meals together, building things together, having open discussions and simply enjoying the presence of others that I connect with. I’m very flexible in my day to day since I’m not all in with my artistry at the moment. I can be a night owl when I am developing a new idea or have creative bursts that I need to be able to express through art or dance or some form of expression.

    In previous workaways, I’ve gardened, helped on farms and built an eco-dome from the ground up, which was hard but very rewarding and enjoyable work.

    Prior to embodying the title as a visual artist I spent a lot of time in the kitchen as a sous chef so from time I still get inklings to go all in. I also am skilled at creating fermented foods and beverages so I enjoy creating various cultured concoctions as well.

    What brings me to Costa Rica: the amount of sunshine, fresh food, the respect of nature, the cleanliness and overall, Costa Rica has such a tranquil vibe, even in the city (which is interesting because I don’t get the same feeling from any city I’ve been to in the states). A couple years ago I spent 3 months in Puerto Viejo and loved the culture and the environment, but I didn’t get to explore much as I was head over hills in a project with some friends. So I’m back to explore some more and I’m even considering making this place my home.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Sailing / Boating
    Fitness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Movies & TV
    Videography

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    My skills range from gardening, basic woodworking skills, some website building, various forms of eco friendly building, painting, drawing, massage therapy, intuitive vegan cooking, childcare, animal care, researching, consolidating, and various “random” skills I’ve acquired throughout my travels. I work well in a team setting as well as taking on tasks by myself.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I’d like to learn more Spanish.

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    Human Being

  • What else ...

    Did I mention how much I love water rich fruit, especially papaya!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mostly plant based, sometimes fish

Photos

Feedback