Annemiek

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Bangladesh, Egypt, Iran, Italy, Jordan, Morocco, Oman, Spain, United Kingdom

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    After having worked many years as a language teacher in high school and as a journalist on foreign affairs and sustainability, I am now retired, but still partly professionally active, next to doing voluntary jobs in my hometown Amsterdam.
    Being 70 now, with one grown-up son, I would like to work abroad as a TEFL certified English teacher. In December 2018 and January 2019 I worked as assistant English teacher in Casablanca and Fes, Morocco. In the fall of 2019 I travelled through Iran, also a wonderful experience!
    I love travelling, but I also want to be able to contribute to the country I am visiting. Also interested in meeting people in other countries and get acquainted with daily life and with different cultures.
    I am a social person, patient and willing to take responsibilities and like to come up with solutions in order to get the job done. Do my work meticulously and am flexible in working hours. I enjoy being with people, but don't have to be entertained by others. I also know how to respect other people's privacy.
    I can give you (very positive) references of hosts in the UK, Spain and Morocco.
    About my age: 70 may sound 'old', but I am in very good condition (I'm a runner) and have enough (life) experience and energy to do some useful work next to teaching. I love working in my own garden right in the middle of historic Amsterdam, and also like cooking. Animal lover (I have a lovely cat, a Blue Russian), also handy in (light) mending work, painting. Basic knowledge of Word Press.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Architecture
    Writing
    Books
    Music
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Teaching, writing, gardening, cooking, cleaning, basic knowledge Word Press website building.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Arabic: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Since a while I am studying Arabic. Would love to make some progress in speaking.

  • Age

    71

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    Interested in cultures from all over the world and in telling about Dutch culture.
    Love to cook good and healthy food and being outdoors. Eat mostly vegetarian, but sometimes I treat my friends and myself on a good chicken from the oven ;-). Non smoker.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback