Matej

  • Slovakia (Slovak Republic)
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (6)

Watch my profile video

Please accept marketing-cookies to watch the video.

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    Activities i am interested in:

    currently at home, looking to travel again in springtime :)

  • Description

    Hi everybody!
    To start with, my main motivation to search for projects with voluntary work was probably the point in life that I got to. I definitely felt like I needed some change, a fresh start. Sooo, what I did was I quit my day job as a golf club manager, took some time to take a deep breath and think about what to do next. And voila, here I am traveling (hopefully) around the whole world. Deep down I must have wanted this a long time ago, but I guess I was just stuck in those comfortable ways of daily routines.

    There is something true about what many people say that you have to go see the world to realise how much you love your home (or you may very likely find another one). And that's probably the most accurate description of the position I am standing in. I want to make this a life journey, which will point me in the direction to go when returning home, or to find another one somewhere along the way. I want to slowly travel as many places as I can, leaving a personal "footprint" on them and people around them and - just as importantly - having it the other way around, get inspired and shaped by the community I am a part of. I want to learn as many new thing as I can, for you never know when they may be of use. I want to be there, helping you with anything you are passionate about, because who knows, it might become my passion as well.

    And most importantly...

    ... do it with LOVE :)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Up to this point, I devoted the biggest portion of my working years to being a manager (tournament director) at a local golf club in Slovakia. Therefore my expertise would be management and event organisation (mostly golf tournaments, which is a bit specific, but nevertheless). Besides that, I did a lot of writing (articles, web content) and a LOT of communication with clients and other institutions.

    On the other hand, I am the type of guy who is inclined to a huge variety of activities, from doing a lot of sports (skiing, snowboarding, tennis, floorball, later golf and most recently because of my Portugal trip - surfing :))) to arts - I played the piano for a long time and still enjoy playing the guitar, although none of these became anything else than a hobby, which I can safely say I regret a little bit. I might be able to teach some basics though.
    I am also a certified ski instructor and golf coach.

    I am no stranger to basic construction work or generally the manual work, gardening etc. I am most certainly up for any challenge.

    Try me :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Slovak: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Polish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I would very much like to learn some Spanish/Portuguese and maybe get better in French.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    29

  • What else ...

    Recently I took interest in graphic design. While having to do some basic stuff in my aforementioned ex-job, I found out that this is something I really enjoy, and is very good to support the "creative side". Although I am a sheer beginner, I would very much like this to become something bigger someday. Add a nice little van conversion into the equation and - as far as Im concerned - you have a dream life in your hands :)

    I can also appreciate good painting, photography, but MOSTLY - music. Music is the spice of life for me and I was led to it from my early childhood. I am trying to get back into my piano days at least a little bit, but mainly I enjoy playing the guitar nowadays. Much more if I have somebody to play with.

    I enjoy spending time with my friends (I am hoping to find a lot more of them while travelling), having a beer with them, talking, playing games. Although I would describe myself more of a listener, I do like to have deep conversations. I tend to be a little quiet when surrounded by new people, but after some time I get comfortable and I believe I am very pleasant to be around.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no food allergies, only pollen in springtime

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, although I would like to eat as little meat as I can.

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback