Darcy

  • Canada
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Ireland - from May 2022 until Oct 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello, my name is Darcy. I am 59 years old, retired and have been living in Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada for the past 6 years. I grew up in Kapuskasing, Ontario where I retired from a career job with Ontario Power Generation in 2014, and since then I've kept quite busy with all kinds of activities, including many traveling excursions.

    I grew up (and worked) in Northern Ontario and have become accustomed to extreme changes in weather conditions and I enjoy all the seasons. We endured cold winters (-35C) and hot summers (+35C). I love being outdoors and I can spend all day on the go, whether it’s working or playing. I have 3 children (3 girls, all grown up now) and as they were growing up, I spent most of my time volunteering for what seemed like every sporting event they participated in. I like helping people and now that I am retired and my kids have started their own life, I have lots of free time. That's why I decided to join Workaway, so could do some traveling, meet new people and help them out with small rewarding projects.

    Yes, I understand that I am now 59, but I am healthy and take good care of myself. I'm NOT the typical 59 yr old that sits at home on the couch all day. I eat well and enjoy partaking in any type fitness to stay in good shape. I like hiking and anything else outdoors. I am friendly and easy going, with a passion for travel and adventure.

    During the summer of 2015, my oldest daughter, son-in-law and I traveled across the northern United States and Canada for 7 week vacation. It was a great experience for all of us to see new places and we met many nice people along the way. In April 2016, I did my first workaway in Italy (Bagni di Lucca) for 4 weeks. I had a great time, with great Hosts and thoroughly enjoyed the work. Summer of 2017, I did another workaway in Italy for 5 weeks, and again, it was a great experience. I've traveled to Italy, Iceland, Australia, New Zealand, United States (numerous locations), and many, many places within Canada.

    In late 2016 my youngest daughter and I took on the challenge of building a "tiny house" on a trailer. She wanted to live off the grid and minimize her expenses, so she drew up her own plans for a tiny house and we went at it. Four (4) months later, she was living in her new house. It was an interesting build, since we didn't have a shop to work from, and the house became our workshop as we were building, so we were running out of working space. It was an experience that I will cherish forever, we had a great time with a lot of laughs and even learned a few things.

    I am continually looking for more interesting workaway experiences, and when the timing is right, I'll be doing more of them. All the best to everyone.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Team sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Photography
    Cooking & food
    History

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • More details about your skills

    Prior to my retirement, back in 2014, I previously worked for Ontario Power Generation (in Ontario, Canada) as an Environmental Advisor. I spent considerable time in the field working outside on environmental management programs, as well as an equal amount of time behind a desk, doing computer work, writing reports and ensuring we were compliant with Canadian Government regulations. Additionally, I have worked as a Mechanical Maintainer for numerous years (15+ yrs) doing various types of mechanical repair work. I have also done many different jobs with regards to construction, carpentry, painting and everything in between. I can operate almost any type of machinery, and can drive just about anything. I am a very quick learner and I enjoy work that is physically demanding. I am always eager to learn new skills and I will gladly work on any type of job that provides me with a new experience. If I don't know... I ask!!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    59

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    I will eat all types of foods, however, I try to maintain a low carb diet with lots of vegetables. I try to stay away from the sweets and high carb foods. I like to keep things simple, so I will generally eat whatever is being served. I always clean up after eating. Additionally, I like to spend a bit of time each day doing some form of exercise.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback