Helmi

  • Finland
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Italy - from May 2022 until Sep 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hi! My name is Helmi, I am a 21-year-old student originally from Finland but now live in Scotland where I'm studying biology. Forming new friendships and learning about different cultures by staying with local people is something that is very close to my heart! I am wishing to improve my language skills while working in a host residence/family. I am a native Finnish speaker and fluent in English, and am studying Italian in which I have an upper intermediate level; I would love to one day be fluent so I'm trying to practise as much as possible. I am now also starting to learn Spanish.
    I enjoy exercising and spending time outdoors and in nature. Equally, I love discovering and exploring cities and learning about their history, art and culture.
    Thus far, the Workaway experiences I've had have been amazing and allowed me to meet people from different kinds of paths of life, which has been very enriching for me.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Hitchhiking
    Water sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Languages
    Books
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    LGBTQ
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    Self development
    Events & social
    Fashion or beauty
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • More details about your skills

    As I am a native Finnish speaker and fluent in English, I can provide help/tutoring with learning these languages. I have two younger brothers, 3 and 6 years younger than me, as well as several cousins under the age of 10; I thus have plenty of experience in child-minding and really enjoy playing and spending time with children!
    As I am an undergraduate biological sciences student at university, I can also tutor or help children/teenagers with e.g. homework.
    I really enjoy gardening and spending time in the kitchen; I have been baking and cooking since I was 13 years old, when I started preparing pastries and selling them at a local summer market in Finland, where I grew up. Also, during lockdown, I started a gardening project: I grew potatoes, beetroots, spinach, herbs, Jerusalem artichokes and herbs to name a few.
    I am also handy with any crafting and have basic DIY skills, and am a fast learner and pick up new skills quickly. I have some experience of general maintenance work such as painting.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    French: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I am a native Finnish speaker, and fluent in English. I am fascinated by languages, and am aiming to study so that I can one day be fluent in French, Italian and Spanish. Currently I am in intermediate level in Italian, and lower intermediate in French.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    21

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian

Feedback


Friends

Feedback