Helene

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    United States
    View all
  • Description

    Hello from Philadelphia, PA USA!
    I am an animal/nature lover and part time marketing consultant who likes to travel and volunteer as much as possible. I am trained with and work for American Humane doing animal welfare and disaster relief in the USA. I have worked on a rescue game reserve in South Africa as well as with kangaroo/wallaby rescue in Australia. I recently worked in New Mexico training and caretaking wild mustang horses. I am trained with Team Rubicon doing disaster relief as well and currently working with them. Its my goal to give back and especially to the places that I visit.
    I love volunteering because I get to meet interesting people and learn more about places and creatures new to me. I also then get to explore the non touristy bits of the places I visit. It is also my way of giving back to the places I visit.
    I love people. Im easy going and positive. Happy to pitch in and do what is needed. I love to cook. I like to garden, hike, paint/draw, and I'm also a gamer. I have played an online game called Runescape for years and go to the convention in the UK annually. All my volunteering has been found directly to date. I recently met some Workaway volunteers in New Mexico and thought I would give it a go. :) I look forward to meeting you!

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Gardening
    Animals
    Pets
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Music
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    History

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • More details about your skills

    -Mom of 3 adult kids (loads of skills! Cooking, cleaning, organizing, motivating, patience (still working on that lol) :)
    -Trained in animal welfare and disaster relief by American Humane.
    -Volunteered over the past 5 years with all sorts of animals from large, Elephant, Rhino, Lions to horses, to small, dogs and cats.
    -Volunteered with refugees in with Helprefugees.org in Calais, France
    -Marketing/event planning
    -Real Estate management and development

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    49

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    I love to play games and am pretty good at poker.
    I enjoy reading and spending time outdoors.
    I love to explore new places.
    I enjoy good conversation, food and wine.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      mold and mildly cat dander

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback