Helen & Stephen

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Email verified
Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

  • Description

    Hello folks, My name is Helen and I am a retired family nurse practitioner with a strong interest in diet and health. Steve is a retired geological scientist with many years of experience rehabilitating old homes. Steve and I are looking for travel adventures that will connect us with the local populations. We enjoy travel that combines learning about new areas and being able to give back to the communities in which we find ourselves. We have been growing organic vegetables, fruits and lamb for the local farmer's market and grocery store for a decade. We are scaling back on these projects and are now willing to exchange our accumulated knowledge of sustainable living habits with others around the world. We love backpacking, river running, sailing, and most any other outdoor activities. We have retrofitted two of our homes to passive solar heating over the last 4 decades after having gutted these homes. For the last 18 years we have lived in a small town in central Idaho, 3 hours drive from the nearest hospital or shopping mall, surrounded by the mountains and wilderness areas of central Idaho and located on the beautiful, wild Salmon River.

  • Interests

    Cycling
    Plant care
    Politics / Social justice
    Outdoor activities
    Carpentry
    Cooking & food
    History
    Hiking
    Sustainability
    Gardening
    Camping
    Fitness
    Sailing / Boating
    Yoga / Wellness
    Nature
    Farming
  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    Steve - has renovated our 3 homes over the last 4 decades, everything from foundations and additions to plumbing and wiring to sheetrock and roofing. We also designed and retrofitted passive solar aspects on two of our homes. Also lots of pruning and gardening experience, as we have a fruit orchard and multiple gardens. And has worked with livestock ( dairy & beef cows, goats, sheep ). I worked in science and engineering.
    Helen - Worked as emergency room nurse for 12 years and then as family nurse practitioner, providing primary care to our small Idaho town 3 hrs from a hospital for 10 years. Also, started a farmers market and has been growing organic vegetables, fruits and lamb for market. Good at painting, remodeling, sheetrocking and dry stonewall building. Also very knowledgeable in nutrition, and enjoys experimenting in the kitchen with new ways of cooking.
    We are both very active and fit for our age, routinely hiking 10 miles in the mountains around our home. Or working long hours in our gardens.

  • Age

    70 & 73

  • What else ...

    Steve loves sailing and for the last 20 years has spent the winters aboard a 35' ketch. Also enjoys white water rafting, hiking, backpacking, canoeing, and camping as well as gardening.
    Helen loves camping, hiking, backpacking, gardening, yoga, and learning about healthy lifestyle alternatives to traditional western medicine. Also love to learn new crafts from cheese making (especially working with sheep's milk) to basket making, (have done both palm frond and pine needle baskets) and dabbles in watercolor painting.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No though we try to eat a healthy, plant based diet with occasional meat, eggs and dairy products.

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback