Sascha & Helena

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Fiji, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Tonga, Vanuatu

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/11/2019 - 25/02/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi guys!
    We're Helena and Sascha, a 27 years old married couple of German - Austrian mixture.

    We love the simple life, are open-minded and appreciating the little things. Our goals are to leave only small footprints, escape our comfort zone to soak up life and to be close to nature.

    Our backgrounds couldn't be much more different with Sascha being an academic who spent years studying different languages and cultures. Helena had quite a different approach to life. Being a hands-on woman, she has more than 10 years of experience as a salesperson.
    Our creativity, independence and -Don't give up mentality- helped us rebuild and travelling in a self-made camper van through Europe as well as Morocco and long stretches through the Saharan Desert.
    We complement each other quite well and bring up the best in each other. Our journey has brought us to Australia from where we're looking for new experiences that may dirty our hands, showing us new limits, let us learn and grow.

    We're both vegetarian, but not militant and certainly not looking to convert anyone. Our days of partying are well over, we're nonsmokers and rarely drink alcohol. We value good conversations, a humorous approach to life and sharing experiences and life stories with each other.

    Helena is an amazing cook and looking to improve her English skills. Sascha has a talent for languages and loves to share it.

    Our motto is to contribute wherever we can and being an enrichment to you as you are to us!
    We hope to have piqued your curiosity and look forward to meeting you!


    // We're currently in Sydney, but willing to travel to Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Tonga, Vanuatu if you have an ecological/cultural project which attacks environmental and/or community issues //

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Having worked in a specialised dealer for paints and varnish, Helena knows how to work with those substances. She's a practical person, not shy to work with any material or tool. Being the youngest of 6 siblings and having had countless cats, a dog, several rabbits, goats, and chickens, Helena knows how to deal with people just as with animals. Her love for both has never vanished, therefore she loves to cook for as many people as possible and is quite good at it. Helena is the aunt to 6 nephews and nieces of whom she took care of early on. Furthermore, Helena might secretly be the world's best Tetris player as she has proven numerous times moving from one place to another.
    Her motto 'Everything is possible' describes her best.


    Sascha is a good theoretical thinker who comes up with helpful ideas just in the right moments. He's a fast learner and interested in a wide field of subjects such as languages, cultures, physics, and mechanics. Being able to speak English, German, Arabic and a bit of French, Norwegian and Persian, he gained access to many different cultures. Sascha has the knack for finding the cheapest flights and has travelled all over the world. Teaching languages, translating and interpreting has been part of his academic venture. Having married Sascha has become a caring uncle. Other than that, building a van gave him the experience and self-esteem needed, to start fixing minor demerits on his own like changing brakes. Having grown up with a house and garden, gardening has been part of most of his life.
    "Think first, then talk" describes him best.


    Being of German - Austrian background, you can imagine we're both good at keeping things tidy and in order while having an "on-time nature".
    Having lived on our own for a while, we're not new to managing a household.

  • Languages spoken

    Arabic: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Persian (Farsi): Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Age

    28 & 28

  • What else ...

    We love being outdoors - hiking, strolling, swimming, snorkeling, playing basketball and skateboarding.
    If indoors, we love to read or to play card games or ludo.
    However, there's a number of things we'd love to learn about, like Yoga, the Ocean, how to surf, how to (free) dive.

    Helena is going to study Environmental Sciences next year so she's very interested in nature, permaculture and environment and willing to learn about it.

    Sascha is looking to broaden his language skills. Learning a Polynesian Language (especially Maori) would be brilliant.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian

Photos

Feedback