Helen

From: Germany

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/02/2019 - 16/05/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello hello :-)
    My name is Helen and I'm into all that is outdoors. I love being outside, hiking, biking, camping around or just having a quiet moment in the forest. I'm really into sustainable projects and making people more aware of the impact they are having on our Mama Earth. I am very curious about indigenous ways of living and the challenges that indigenous communities have to deal with in different countries.
    A good time for me needs good food, kind people with interesting stories, good books and at best a bonfire. I love cooking, playing the guitar, doing crafty things, learning about ecosystems and my hammock.
    I'm quite new to workaday but have done wwoofing (volunteering on organic farms) before and love the concept of the two!
    This spring I graduated from school and before starting my Human Ecology degree in the fall, am now in my gap year, a year hopefully filled with exploring my passions and a little bit of the world and its different mindsets.
    For now I'm hoping to learn Spanish, loads about permaculture, traditional handicrafts, medicinal plants, construction, turn my jumping to music into something that could be called dancing, understand different approaches to living with and off the earth, and and and! :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I've worked on a farm before and love anything that's hands-on-work. I've been volunteering in several camps for kids and love seeing the world through their eyes. Through organizing fundraising events I have gained quite some experience in organization skills I can help with crafty things and preparing meals, and have a certification as a hiking and kayak guide and some extensive First Aid Training. But really, I will of course try any way I can be helpful:-)

  • Languages spoken

    fluent German, fluent English, advanced French, intermediate Norwegian and Spanish:)

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    German

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      xenophobia

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian

Photos

As always pretty amazed by morning light and morning mountains
Happy me with flower friends at a farm I volunteered at in Canada
Skiing (or falling) in beautiful Norway close to the school I went to
Hiking in the Rockies:-)
my friend and I on our road trip through the never ending landscapes of Northern Scandinavia
cleaning cleaning cleaning while volunteering at a refugee camp in Greece
endless joy while kayaking:-)
trying hard to tell the audience that being in the outdoors is good for everyone;-) during my school's TedxConference:-)
little me during our radio show on sustainability that my friend and I used to produce
Fun times hiking in the norwegian mountains with a group that my friend and I brought out for the weekend:-)
Happy Hiking Helen :-)
the energy at Quilotoa Lagune in Ecuador just made me feel like I could fly!:-)

Feedback