Heleen

  • Netherlands
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

  • Description

    Hi! My name is Heleen, I am a 21 year old dutch-german student, currently finishing my studies of political science in Leipzig, Germany. While I do love my time at university, I have discovered workaway as a way to break away from my bubble into some entirely different worlds. For me this means spending all day digging in the dirt, weeding away and then collapsing at night feeling as though I could not lift another finger. While thinking about politics gives me great pleasure, it doesn’t quite equal the satisfaction of physical work. Which doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy a good conversation at any time of day really!
    My greatest passion might be learning languages. I took on Russian a few years back (impossibly hard) and am still not done with le français. I play the piano, which is not a handy travel instrument, so I started playing the guitar. My repertoire consists of all songs that don’t have the F chord, since my chubby fingers are not yet flexible enough.
    However, my hands are perfectly suited for other things, such as weeding and gardening, helping out with all kinds of chores, from sawing to sewing!
    I am only just starting to learn more about plants, food production and farming and am eager to learn more. I am an enthusiastic, independent, fast learning person and I am definitely not afraid to get my hands dirty. I like working in teams, also I have a lot of experience with living together with people and groups and know how to keep a peaceful and respectful atmosphere.

  • Interests

    Hiking
    Languages
    Cooking & food
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    From growing up on the countryside I have some basic knowledge in taking care of animals, such as poultry, goats and horses. My previous workaway has taught me some garden and wood chopping skills.
    I find that I am a practical person and can be of assistance for all different sorts of tasks.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Russian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    22

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback