Hayley & John

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Brazil, Croatia, France, Germany, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Italy, Morocco, Nepal, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/11/2018 - 11/11/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1415

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello!
    Our names are Hayley and John we are currently traveling in our home on wheels in Portugal! we left the UK after converting our van into a home in November 2018 and have been on the road ever since.
    CURRENT SITUATION:
    We have been based in the Algarve region of Portugal working at an organic blueberry farm for the summer.
    We are now on our way to Morocco to spend the winter. We would like to be involved in creative endeavors ranging from eco building, permaculture gardening, artistic projects and living in a community environment with open minded people.
    OUR STORY:
    We got back from India to the UK In march 2018. During that time here we have been converting a camper van and have built our home of Wheels. We have no time limit on how long we will be traveling for. We hope to paint, play, plant, create and dance at lots of different beautiful sustainable communities in Europe.
    Over the winter we stayed in the french Pyrenees helping to build a vegetable garden and a seating area made from wood and stone. We learnt many skills when working with wood we found from the forest to create beautiful raised veg beds. We also learnt how to do stone masonry creating a herb spirals and more raised beds. It was beautiful to also get creative when designing the veg garden using permaculture techniques and principles.
    About Hayley:
    I am a fun bubbly person aged 23 yrs old with that thing we call the travel bug! I left the UK in July 2015 and since then I have been making my around the world. Don't really have a time limit I just know I want to explore the unknown and meet incredible different characters.
    I have been lucky enough to gain a TEFL qualification and teach English and travel Thailand for two months, explore Vietnam, Cambodia, Indonesia and I lived in Australia for a year. I have worked for an environmental organisation trying to protect the beautiful wilderness. I worked on a farm picking oranges.
    When i was in Nepal I was teaching English in a village school in Chitwan national park. I did art workshops with the children it was beautiful to see them have the opportunity to express their creativity. I also did two large murals in the local classrooms I felt honored to bring colour and light to these spaces. When i was in Sri Lanka i painted murals for hostels and guesthouses.
    When i was living in India i stayed with different self sustainable communities learning about growing your own food, artistic self expression, living with others in beautiful harmony and I practiced yoga and meditation.
    I am now very much interested in learning more about permaculture and being completely self sustainable. Also just been aware of our surroundings, our environment and really just appreciating every being. During my time back in the UK I have completed my Permaculture design course, it was very interesting to learn about working in harmony with the earth. My current desire is to learn about cob building and understanding a way to incorporate art into structure. I am also curious to learn more about medicinal herbs and how to include them into designing a sensory garden for people to gain clarity and peace.
    I love to paint and create its therapy for me. I love learning new skills from all different people and also providing anything i can give. I feel you should accept everyone, giving and accepting love is important.
    About John:
    I am 25 years old, I have been travelling since 2016 and have spent some time In India, Nepal and Sri Lanka.
    I have had various different jobs, ranging from laboring, landscape gardening and supporting people with learning disabilities. I also have a TEFL qualification for teaching English.
    Since travelling I have volunteered at Eco projects, helping with tasks like building cafes and accommodation huts, gardening and irrigation design, alongside household maintenance such as cooking, cleaning and laundry. I enjoy physical work, especially in a co-creative environment. The experience I have, basic knowledge of: woodwork, planting, assembling structures, painting and simple stonework.
    I am interested in sustainable living, forestry management, ecological building design and feng shui principles and would like to further this knowledge and offer help to those creating their own. Currently I have a desire to be involved in a edible woodland (food forest) design project.
    I love music very much and am enthusiastic about sharing and learning with others through this medium. Cooking is also a big passion for me.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Painting, printmaking, textiles, music, teaching english, arts, building, eco-project, gardening, art therapy, painting murals, woodwork, permaculture

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    23 & 25

  • Nationality

    English

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian/sometimes vegan

Photos

Feedback