Fabien

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Iceland, Japan, Sweden, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2019 - 08/02/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

Watch my profile video


  • Description

    Hi everyone,

    So here I am, just created this account on WorkAway the 16th of may 2019, because, reason number one, I just discovered it, and reason number two, I am in a period of my life where I have time to travel and I am more than eager to discover new ways of living, new cities and places and new people.

    I will try to introduce myself as I understand that hosts mainly rely on this bio, especially when it's a first experience, just like me. So I am a 28 year old man that grew up and spent 90% of his life in the South West of France either in Bordeaux, Toulouse or, between those two cities, yet a smaller one, Agen. I started to develop an interest in languages with english at school when I was 14. I was only having fun in english courses during High School, thus I continued this way and I went to University to study English litterature, linguistics and civilization. I got my degree at the age of 23 and after a gap year and 3 months in Dublin, I decided to pursue with a Master in English. I got the first year but not the second one, unfortunately. I wasn't able to finish it because of financial reasons. But I am also thankful of this because it made me discover and do my firsts steps in teaching English to 10 to 16 year old in french schools. I did this job of substitute english teacher for 2 years and had a great time doing it. Working with children is a rich experience that I'm happy I had.

    At the age of 16 I developped a passion for Japan and its culture which made me try to learn Japanese. I was not brave enough to work efficiently on it but who knows, maybe later in my life as Japan is still a country I sort of admire. I also did my memoir for my second year of English Literature Master on the universe and more precisely the inspirations Tolkien had for his cosmogony of Middle Earth, which raised an interest in me for Old Norse and Scandinavian languages but also for their myths. It is something I need to dig now that I have time.

    Beside this, I am truly passionate, almost devoted, to astronomy and cosmology - and Science in a larger extent. It is something that always had an important place in my life and as in my way of seeing the world, and it keeps growing in me. Therefore I read, watch videos, lectures a lot about all this and I'm always glad to talk about it. As I have quite recently learnt that science is not much without philosophy I am eager to read and discover a lot about the topic and its diverse intelectual currents.

    I like reading beside this, not so much novels but I can immerse myself into some good fictions sometimes. I play video games also, mainly strategy or card ones. I really enjoy listenning to music, and I'm eclectic, all sorts of music may please me. Depending on the mood of course. I'm always down for hiking in wonderful landscapes, or some sports sessions like tennis, football or just biking, which is currently the sport I practise the most.
    I am available right now because I am planning on doing a whole year in Canada in 2020 with the working holiday visa and, due to some reasons I had to go back living at my fathers place, which is not something you wanna do at 28, almost 29 ahah. So why not travelling and discover the world ?
    What else to say about me ? I am a rather chill dude, I have dreadlocks and tattoos but I'm very friendly, don't be scared haha.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    My skills are mainly focused on the experience I had in teaching and the relationship with youngsters, yet I also did several other jobs like working at McDonald's, cleanings in hospitals or working in fields with corns. I can help you with whatever I know and even what I don't know as I am willing to learn and discover new things.

  • Languages spoken

    French (native language), English

  • Age

    29

  • What else ...

    As Workaway is telling me to tell you what game I play, I am doing it, I play Hearthstone and, I admit, Fortnite, just like the children I'm teaching English to! And they're huge fans of this haha!!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback