Hannah & Dan

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/03/2019 - 30/06/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hannah says:

    We’ve left the city in search of an experience of ‘the good life’. We are planning to relocate and settle down and hope to take some ideas and skills with us! Dan quit his job in journalism but he used to be a carpenter so he’s very handy and keen to build stuff and get his hands dirty. I’m a physio and yoga teacher. We want to immerse ourselves in the satisfaction of practical rural tasks and enter into the spirit of the simple life.

    I love life in the great outdoors and am keen to look after animals, cook (I’m always thinking about food!) and look after the home and garden. I'm well traveled and once worked in the French Alps as a physio and masseuse. I have a love affair with India and studied yoga there. One time, I did an Ayurvedic cookery course which taught me the many benefits of the mung bean, among other things! I love cooking healthy, wholesome food and deepening my understanding and appreciation of food. I'm also a proper softy when it comes to our 4 legged friends. Dan says I have the playful temperament of the goat... I love goats so I don't mind!

    Dan says:

    That's a pretty good summary I think! Yes, after many years in London it's time to explore a new chapter and a new way of living -- I'm really looking forward to getting out in the nature and working with my hands again. I've also done a lot of travelling and over the last few years in particular I've been drawn to long hiking holidays, including the Camino de Santiago in Spain and walking and wild camping the Jurassic Coast along the south west coast of England.

    I've also done work aways before, along while back though -- with WWOOF, in Co. Kilkenny and also on a horse ranch and vineyard in California. I've always felt really fondly about those two experiences and have wanted to do it again some day, and now it seems is the time!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Carpentry
    Physio
    Yoga teacher
    Cooking

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    37 & 42

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    We've both worked for charities. Dan is founder of a charity that supports issues that disproportionately affect men and boys, such as mental health problems and inequality in education. Also, his current job is a communications manager for a charity that helps kids from disadvantaged backgrounds get access to higher education.

    I teach a weekly yoga class, the proceeds of which go to charity and I also used to visit the elderly as a volunteer for Age UK, Dan is very much into training in Japanese Jiu Jitsu.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback