Hana

From: Czech Republic

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Iceland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/06/2019 - 18/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi, I am Hana from the Czech Republic and I am 28 years old.

    I have a passion for animals, I was studying exotic animals at the Czech University of Life Sciences and during my studies, I was also working as a volunteer in a cat shelter in Prague for five years. I was caring for cats in the shelter, raising funds for projects (crowdfunding), assisting in creating the website and coordinating events, making promotional photographs, videos and materials.

    In 2016 I got my first Working holiday visa and I spent one year in New Zealand. That was the most memorable experience. I met people from more than 28 different countries and most of them were like me, travel addict. People who don't want to live an ordinary life but they want to experience something unfamiliar and leave with new skills or knowledge.

    In New Zealand, I had an opportunity to work in three different hostels, in the Animal Sanctuary, Borzoi Kennel and also in the kiwi fruit orchard and food factory.

    Few months after I came back home from New Zealand I applied to get a Working holiday visa in Canada and I succeeded. I came to Canada in September 2018 and I spent a winter season in Banff.

    Every Wednesday I was volunteering with the organization called BanffLIFE, assisting with the Community Meals programs and I just loved it.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    customer service experience (housekeeping, working in the store, cooking), working with animals, making and editing photos and videos

  • Languages spoken

    Czech and English

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    Czech

  • What else ...

    My main interests and hobbies are: travelling, taking photos and videos, taking care of animals and watching wild animals, hiking, skiing, snorkelling, reading, listening to music

    Why I love volunteering?
    I volunteer to learn something new or to acquire a skill that I lacked. I couldn’t go out and get a job to learn that skill, but I could volunteer and learn it.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback