Hailey & Thomas

From: United States & France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, France, Laos, Thailand, United States, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/10/2019 - 01/10/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Hailey (American), I have been traveling around the world, teaching English, volunteering, and backpacking for a few years now. Three years ago while on the road, I met Thomas (from France), who was crazy enough to join me on the adventure and since then we have traveled to many countries together and have really enjoyed the places we've been lucky enough to be welcomed by on Workaway. We are looking to make a positive impact, learn trades, offer our skills where we can, and experience the places we visit by becoming part of the community and connecting to the humans, animals, and nature that exists there.

    A bit about me - I am currently working as an ESL teacher online, which has allowed me to travel the world for the past few years. Before that, I was living in Portland, Oregon where I worked helping immigrants from all over the world transition to living in the States. I also have lived for an extended period of time and taught English in Thailand, Tanzania, Nicaragua, Australia, France - but while just traveling or backpacking, I have been to around 45 different countries. I was raised on exploring the world and have continued to be inspired by that passion. I am also very passionate about culture, nature, education, language, life, children, animals, yoga (I've taught donation-based community classes, but don't have my certification yet), music, guitar, piano, books, poetry, singing, painting....also beer, wine, cheese, bread, coffee, healthy cooking, hiking, swimming, scuba diving (I used to be a dive master's assistant certifying new divers)...the list goes on and on haha

    A bit about Thomas - He has been working seasonally as a boat captain in the SW of France where we call home. He has explored some of Europe, backpacked around SE Asia twice, done an exchange in Russia, and got to experience America recently when traveling to meet my family for the first time! He is a linguist, and has studied French, English, Spanish, and Russian. He is one of the most fun, open minded and caring people I've met. He is also very artistic and plays the guitar and cajon, which we will probably have with us when we come to you!

    As a couple - We are best of friends, and recently married!! " There's nothing worth sharing like the love that let's us share our names." We honestly just adore each other as humans and we constantly remind ourselves how lucky we were that somehow we so randomly met. We're super easy going and love to make friends along the way wherever we go. We're super laid back, but at the same time try to put our full energy into all that we do, "It's the language of enthusiasm, of things accomplished with love and purpose."

    If we come stay to work with you, you can be assured we won't let you down! (:

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am an English teacher and Cultural Anthropologist and have taught ages 4-75 and from over 50 different countries. I also have worked as a director for a school where I coordinated activities, ran social media & marketing, and organized lesson plans.

    I have volunteered building sustainable infrastructures for small villages (for example, a school & water tank out of plastic water bottles). Thomas has worked in vineyards in France, and we both volunteered on a farm together so we are not afraid at all of getting our hands muddy with physical labor tasks.

    We enjoy making music, art, poetry & writing, and adding a creative spirit to all types of canvases.

    We love learning and are all about open communication when it comes to life, work, living in general, and so you can feel free to talk to us about anything while we're staying with you, we are open books!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    27 & 25

  • Nationality

    American & French

  • What else ...

    We are looking forward to meeting you & sharing life for a little bit! We are very respectful when it comes to sharing spaces and will enter your home with enthusiasm and hopefully add something special to our time together for you to remember us by!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback