Aghmad

From: South Africa

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/10/2019 - 12/11/2019


  • Description

    Hello future work-away families and hosts
    I am Achmad from Cape Town South Africa, but currently based in Zurich. I recently completed my MAS in Transitional Justice and Human Rights.
    I am attracted to country lifestyle and love animals, specifically horses. I love caring for them, feeding them, grooming them, doing exercises like join-up and taking them for rides. I have experience with horses from my friends farm in South Africa and i would sometimes take care of them when he was away. I also have experience with horses in Mongolia where i stayed with a local family and helped them to herd their animals on horseback, in a program similar to workaway (woofing). i also have some ridding experience in Tunisia and Switzerland.
    I have been dreaming about horses recently and I miss spending time with this fascinating creature. i'm looking for a family or community that love horses and where i can take time taking care of them and refreshing and improving my horsemanship skills.
    What I appreciate most about my journeys are the people and connection that are made along the way.
    More about me and my adventures on couchsurfing (Achie Van Die Kaap (my nick name)) https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/aghmad

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    The main skills that I can offer is help with your animals and horses and with all your garden work. I am a horticulturalist and equestrian by passion and hobby. I have more than seven years experience planting my own vegetables at home and at an allotment garden project with my University.
    I love horses and want to spend more time caring, loving, and spending time with them.
    I can maintain your existing garden and assist in establishing a vegetable/herb/rose garden and or farm.
    I like to up-cycle waste through innovation. I also have some experience in assisting building with natural resources and waste, such as using glass bottles and adobe mixture to create benches and pizza ovens. I can happily also help out with your eco and art projects.
    Cooking: Another big passion of mine is cooking and baking. I cook mostly healthy vegetarian meals, using what is in seasons. I can be very creative in the kitchen and not shy of fusing spices and chilli.
    Baking: i enjoy baking cakes and bread. My speciality is a Carrot and Cinnamon cake. I like to also bake cheese breads, i recently had the most delicious spinach bread and currently attempting to practice the recipe :) also an easy and thing i like to do often is crepes. I can happily cook for you and your family and other volunteers.

    i also love kids, and can help taking care of them, preparing meals, games, practice language etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English, German, Afrikaans, Indonesian

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    South Africa

  • What else ...

    Looking forward to the cultural exchange opportunity

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Greenthumbs
Painting a mural at a kindergarten in South Zambia.
Organised an orchid and vegetable planting day during my Internship with the United Nations Associations of South Africa, at Makupula High School, in Kayamandi Township just 2km from my University.
Helped plant a food forest in her village in South Zambia

Feedback