Hayley & Felix

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2020 - 31/12/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi there, We are a couple from Cornwall, (South West England) currently traveling New Zealand in our camper van around the North Island of New Zealand. We have spent the first part of our travels on the North Island. Raglan, on to Taranaki, the Northland the East Cape before heading South and are keen to explore more of this beautiful country.

    We have been based in Dunedin for nearly 6 months working but now would like to give a little back to the community that has been so welcoming to us! Looking for longer term (over a couple of weeks) workaways in the Otago Harbour and surrounds to occupy our Winter.

    We have been together for 4 years and in that time have travelled together to Sri Lanka, Galicia & Southern Spain as well as living in a caravan on the wild North Cornwall Coast. Both of us love spending time in and around the sea, as well as exploring the great outdoors. Surfing, photography, art and music are our passions in life and hope to share our love of it with everyone we stay with. There will definately be a jam or two if your a musician too!

    Looking to educate ourselves on self sufficiency, herbal healing, home building and stabilising growing spaces, as well as share and impart our own skills and experiences with others!

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Felix
    I have been working as a chef for 6 years and I love to cook for others so expect some tasty meals! In the last couple of years i have started building surfboards after years of ding repair work so if you have a few holes in your surfcraft i'm your man. I have also worked as a landscape gardener before and not afraid of getting muddy.
    Hayley
    I am a freelance photographer and creative with experience working with small enterprising businesses in the last few years to develop their brand through photography, social media, logo design and event co-ordination. My time behind a screen does not lessen a passion for being outdoors and getting my hands dirty. I have a reasonable experience working with children (one on one or as a part of a group) and have an Arts leadership award which I gained after preparing, planning and carrying out workshops for groups of kids between 5-15. Creative projects are my favourite including painting, murals, dressmaking and renovation however I am not afraid of hard work. I relish the opportunity to broaden my skillset and turn my hand to whatever task I am directed to, and am happy to work alone as well as together to achieve the end result.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    We are both English native Speakers but would love to broaden our horizons by learning more conversational languages to help us out on our continued travels!

  • Age

    31 & 25

  • What else ...

    Felix
    Surfing, music, surfboard design and cooking are my main passions in life. I have been playing guitar for 10 years and always keen to play a few tunes with others. Jamming is my favourite part of playing an instrument, seeing what come out of a simple blues with new musicians can be pretty magical and i hope to share these experiences with you if thats what you are into.
    On the cooking side of things i love to make wholesome meals with a lot of influences from middle eastern dishes and Indian flavours. Falafels are a specialty of mine!
    Hayley
    I love spending my down time being creative and thrive on a project big or small and in a variety of mediums. I LOVE dogs and cant wait to have one of our own when we are not travelling but all animals are wonderful! Walking with a podcast, yoga practise or getting in the sea are my favourite forms of exercise and I am looking forward to a new environment in which to do so.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback