Damiano

  • Italy
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Facebook verified

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Japan
    View all
  • Description

    Hello to everyone! My name is Damiano, I was born in '93 in Southern Italy. I joined this site because I would like to challenge myself and take part in a long-term volunteer project abroad.
    In particular, I would be extremely happy if I had the opportunity to join a project which involves language teaching/learning and activities connected with nature, for example aiming at promoting respectful and correct behaviour for the environment.
    I am very enthusiastic to get to know other cultures, improve my skills in languages and build solid, long-lasting relationships with others. I think that a site like this offers the perfect opportunity to achieve so by staying with local people and giving something to them in return.
    In short, I love to travel because I think this is the best way to try and grasp new, different mindsets and broaden one’s horizons.
    I love listening to music, I like to read books and enjoy watching movies. I am passionate about sports in general, because they symbolise both the effort of improving oneself through fair competition and at the same time the respect for others. I play volleyball and I really like to go running, but I enjoy watching sports too. I am interested in neuroscience, gaming and animation. In my free time, I like to learn and practice languages.
    In general, I love to learn new things, go out from my comfort zone simply because trying something new makes me feel better. I enjoy contemplating nature and I try to be respectful towards environment and living beings. In particular, I am a cat lover, I adore basking in the sun and swimming in the sea.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I have a University degree in medicine. I am a native Italian speaker, with certified advanced knowledge of English (CAE) and intermediate in French (DELF). I have a discreet understanding of Portuguese and Spanish and a beginner level in Japanese and Russian (which I am currently studying) and Slovak (thanks to my Erasmus experience in Slovakia).
    I have lived in a University residence for 5 years, where I contributed in organising activities for the student community, such as cultural and sports events or working in the library of the residence. In 2014, I took part in a volunteer project in Brazil (the duration was one month), where I and other volunteers were involved in activities like communicating with children and exchanging information about our own cultures and languages. Last year (May 2019), I volunteered for two weeks in a farm in Sicily.
    I think that these experiences have given me a lot in terms of personal growth and in developing good communication skills, capacity of solving problems and ability to work in a team, which is something I really like to do.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    Japanese: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner
    Slovak: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    28

  • What else ...

    I think I am an openminded and emphatic person who’s generally able to read someone else’s feelings and mood. I believe I am truly motivated to give my best when there is something I want to achieve, above all if it is something I enjoy and if I am in a positive environment with passionate people: although sometimes I lack a bit of gumption for practical things, I enjoy helping others and I aspire to be always willing to improve and accept other people’s advice.
    I try to build my opinion on things in the most impartial way possible and to see the situations from multiple points of view, therefore I attempt to analyse things in detail. Generally, I consider myself able to express feelings in a clear way but at the same time without offending other people, I believe I am able to listen to others and I am willing to change my mind when necessary.
    Honestly, I don't know exactly if the help I can offer is good enough; I think we can discuss that privately to try and see if I can fit the expectations.
    Please, feel free to contact me should you have any questions! I am also available for video-calls.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback

This Workwayer has not received any feedback yet.