GrayJay

From: Malta

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy, Japan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/01/2020 - 23/03/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi, we are Graham and Jessica. We are a married couple who are originally from California but we have been living in Malta for the past year and a half. I am a chef and Jessica is a preschool teacher. We are continuing our adventures abroad and are excited to experience other cultures.
    We are hoping to start an agriturismo/small farm restaurant in the future and we feel that learning and volunteering will help us gain knowledge and experience. We love foraging and exploring nature, and creating food with the wild, seasonal ingredients that we find.
    Jessica's educational philosophy emphasizes social-emotional development and is rooted in the Reggio Emilia model. She believes in staying positive when directing children's behavior, and following the interests of the children when it comes to play. She lived on a farm as a teenager, and her father and brother are farmers, so she's down to get her hands dirty! She's a bit of a gym rat, and she LOVES sweets.
    When we travel, we find the connections we make with people and the foods we eat to be the most rewarding parts of our journeys. I can be very outgoing and talkative, while Jessica is a bit more quiet and reserved and enjoys listening before participating in conversation. As a chef, I am really into local, seasonal cuisine, and I enjoy things that are simple but well prepared. I also grew up in the country and like to do gardening and pickling, fermenting, etc.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Graham: I have been a professional chef for 17 years, so I am down for any kind of kitchen work. I have been homebrewing beer, mead, and kombucha for about 10 years, and I like pickling, fermenting, and jam making. I can do basic woodwork, and I like doing gardening, so planting, digging, pruning, etc. I can swing a hammer and carry a pail. I've got 2 hands and a brain, so I can do anything if you teach me!

    Jessica: I have a degree in Child Development with a focus on early childhood education. I've worked mostly with children aged 6 months to 4 years old but also have experience working with a 10 year old. I also have experience working with children with special needs as I am very patient and calm around children. Other skills unrelated to children: I enjoy baking and cooking. I'm not as proficient or as quick as my husband but I do enjoy doing it (breads, cookies, cakes). I am quite organized and enjoy having a clean house so if you need help cleaning or organizing I would love to help out. I also love getting on a good sweat and being physical so I have no problem doing hard labor work. As mentioned earlier, I lived on a farm for a few years so I helped with picking, cleaning, planting, watering, weeding vegetables, feeding pigs, building pig pens, sanding floors and other odd jobs like that. I'm pretty willing to do and learn most jobs but I do prefer to stay away from harsh chemicals.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Italian

  • Age

    35 & 34

  • What else ...

    We both love cats!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback