Please use your browser's back button.

Georgy

From: Austria

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Finland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/09/2020 - 01/08/2021

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home


    Building technician with farming background, dedicated to sports physical work and crafts. On a journey to find purpose. Living in Austria and Finland.

  • Profile is connected to:

  • Description

    I am an 24 year old civil engineering technician (Bautechniker) living in Austria and Finland, and a member of workaway for 4 years already.

    I grew up on the countryside on an organic farm, the youngest of five children
    Ever since I remember I helped my parents in the agribusiness which provided me with a strong work ethic.

    Education:
    Diploma of the Higher Federal Technical College of Construction Engineering (Specialist Subject Area: Building Construction/Structural Engineering)

    Work-experience:
    I worked for a while in the field of commercial residential construction , operating for a big European company called Strabag in Vienna as a “Bautechniker” (site engineer/construction site manager)

    Volunteering experience:
    3 longer trips while using workaway
    - 8 months in Australia-New Zealand
    - 8 months in Finland
    - 8 months in Portugal-Morroco-Tanzania- Sri Lanka-Thailand

    I had my first volunteering/workaway experience in 2016, since then I used workaway on and off, doing more then 15 different volunteering commitments.

    In Austria the army service is a duty and I served 8 months in the Military

    I would describe myself as physically very fit person who is used to hard work and I take my responsibilities serious.

    I am an open minded person interested in other countries and cultures.

    Contact me for more information.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Able to teach about: 

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
  • More details about your skills

    I have knowledge in wood work, concrete jobs, basic constructional design, scaffolding, painting, gardening, fencing, carpentry, joinery.

    - handling all sorts of machines
    -cutting trees, making firewood
    - very good with animals
    - familiar with working on farms/forest
    - worked in the tourist sector (guide)
    - very basic sailing yacht knowledge
    -licensed PADI open water diver
    - basic carpenter skills
    - physically very fit/ able to do hard labor

    I have a driving license for tractor and car. I am also used to drive motorbike , ATV (Quad) and snowmobiles.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Beginner

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    Österreich (Austria)

  • What else ...

    Other feedback:

    seasonal work, Finland, 10 weeks (2018)

    Certificate of employment
    Mr Georg Frank has worked for Kamisak as a dog sled guide in Ivalo and Kakslauttanen area.
    He was responsible guiding day tours as well as multi day day husky tours.
    He was also taking care of dogs including feeding, maintenance, and repair work in the kennels.
    Mr Frank carried out his duties very well. He represented himself effectively and was easy to work with. He
    showed initiative and had good team-working skills. He has also good and friedly attitude towards animals.
    I can recommend him for a similar position.
    Ivalo, Finland 29.04.2019
    Mika Nylund
    General Manager
    Kamisak Oy
    Rovaniementie 915
    99800 Ivalo, Finland
    tel. 050 570 7871
    info@kamisak.com
    www.kamisak.com

    ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
    Feedback from New Zealand, an Natural Horsemanship ranch, South Head of Auckland
    volunteering commitment for 13 weeks (2016):

    To Whom it may concern:
    We were delighted to have Georg stay with us for three months whilst he was on holiday in
    New Zealand. He quickly integrated into our household and made a positive contribution in
    many areas.
    In particular, George helped us extensively with building and renovations around our 37acre
    property. In this field he demonstrates great initiative and loves to work. He is very practical
    and handy with all types of power tools. He has a commonsense approach to construction
    principles that flow from his civil and construction engineering background. We found Georg
    a wonderful role model to others, he is physically very fit, exceptionally strong and his energy
    is boundless.
    Being bought up on a farm Georg is very comfortable being around animals and particularly
    good with our herd of 20 horses. Almost every day he would bring them in and walk them on
    a track for 5 – 8 kilometers.
    We had a number of people staying at the same time Georg was here and he worked very well
    with everyone. He was actively social and would take lead roles when that was requested.
    We wish Geog well in everything he does. We would have him back here again any time.
    Regards
    Rosemary Wyndham-Jones
    470 Wilson Road, RD1, Nr Helensville, Auckland.
    info@dunelakeslodge.co.nz
    00 64 94 20 20 40
    www.dunelakeslodge.co.nz

    To Whom it may Concern:
    George Frank is an ideal employee of any kind because of his education, experience, work
    ethic, character, and positive outlook. His gifts as a co-worker make the workplace more
    productive and benefit its culture and his co-workers on a daily basis.
    In his work period at Dune Lakes Lodge George worked outdoors with the horses including
    moving them regularly through the paddocks, ground driving them on the exercise track,
    and feeding out haylage to them from round bales. When it was necessary for someone to
    get up and out the door at 0530 for early feeding because of our schedule, George was
    there.
    He was a key worker in the renovation of our large horse barn into a fresh and sparkling
    event center with upmarket self-catering rooms, kitchen, toilet and shower block, and
    outdoor wood-fired pizza and coffee cafe with its own deck. This work included custom
    framing and lining of the barn and guest rooms, and then sanding and painting the walls all
    the way from the floor to the open ceiling via a 3-story rolling scaffold. The cafe was
    created out of collaborative original outdoor design and construction.
    He is a degreed civil engineer who willingly gets his hands dirty applying his knowledge to
    the daily practical needs in such projects. He took the initiative to visualise and complete
    projects and then take the steps necessary to finish it well, from a retaining wall and
    earthen bank supporting the toilet and shower block to the fine sanding and spray painting
    of the interior finish coat on the great room wall in the event center.
    On and off the clock George has a smile that is always ready for others, and a sincere
    interest in his social interactions with them. Not only was he an important and integral
    member of our team during his stay at Dune Lakes Lodge, he was welcome in our social
    circles and our lives.
    The short of it is, he will be missed, and we hope he comes back soon. I offer my highest
    recommendation for Mr. George Frank.
    Best Regards,
    Rob Pliskin
    Rob Pliskin, MSSA, LSW
    EAGALA Dual Certified Advanced Professional
    Equine Pathfinders Foundation
    www.equinepathfinders.org.nz
    www.eagala.org
    ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

I spent 21 days on a 10.5m sailingyacht, togehter with 4 other people, although we spent only 4 days cruising itself
I very much enjoy being around/working with animals, and I have a natural confidence towards them
Volunteering in a guest house in Portugal, for me Surfing for the first time
self done patio with natural stone blocks in Sri Lanka
I worked for 10 weeks in Lapland/Finland as a huskysafari guide, partly under very extreme conditions, we had -37 °C and beyond.
(photography was taken by one of my clients during overnight tour in March 2019) I spent the winter season in one of the Europe most northern parts with extreme temperatures (-37 degrees and beyond) with a multinational team. The company I worked for, has over 200 Sibirian huskys, and I started completely from the beginning, with zero experience
working on the cattle crush, "Alloura" Angus Stud, NSW Australia
moving the sheep
we built and painted this bunk bed rooms, completely without blueprints
during my longest volunteer experience so far: 13 weeks on a natural horsemanship ranch in New Zealand
building a pizza shack with my Italian college in January 2017
having fun with the kids form the horsecamp, at the Dune Lakes Lodge/ New Zealand (me on the horse)
Assisting leading a big building project in Vienna. June 2017- July 2018
Together with a friend I cycled from Vienna to Moscow in 22days.
during my time in the Austrian Army on a armed mission to secure the Austrian border (Spring 2016)

Feedback