George

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India

  • ...

    Travel dates

    All times

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I'm an adventurous and outgoing traveller, eager to absorb new cultures each and every day!

    After working in the city of London for two years I decided to take a whole new direction in life, one which is far truer to who I am as a human and what I desire. As such I am now spending the year in India and Nepal, focussing wholly on learning about permaculture and organic farming. I have spent 3 months already volunteering on a reforestation project, before having spent a month at a pioneering permaculture farm in Central India volunteering and undertaking a Permaculture Design Course. I then moved to a farm in Maharashtra and applied my skills to a natural building project which was being implemented. I have participated and also taught in another PDC at Hasera farm in Nepal. The opportunity to teach permaculture was new to me but it felt great to spread the positive message. Most recently I have created a food forest from scratch using the principles of an Indian pioneering farmer, and have also designed a built a kitchen garden using permaculture design and principles.

    My medium term aim (2-4 years) is to start my own market garden, in which I can not only take control of my own health and wellbeing but provide my local community with fresh and healthy organic produce. Having been hugely inspired by many of the farms which I have visited, I would also love to eventually start running courses and workshops for people who are interested in organic farming and permaculture to attend.

    I have always beeen an outdoorsy type person, I think it's in my genes (isn't it in all our genes!) I love working with the earth and developing my skills so that I can put them into ethical and sustainable practices for the rest of my future. I relish learning anything new, and equally love sharing any knowledge of my own with the fantastic people that I encounter whilst travelling.
    I am also always willing to help out in other tasks, whether they be cooking, helping to develop people's English skills, or spending time with children.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Teaching, charity work, cooking, gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback