Genevieve & Andreas

  • South Africa & Switzerland
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    We are experienced travellers, ultimately looking for a new place to call home somewhere in the tropics.

    My passion for travel started at 18 when I hitch hiked through Europe. In the meantime I lived in Amsterdam, Dahab, on cruise ships, yachts, in a private game reserve, on an island, Pemba (northern Mozambique) - which was my home for 10 years, Saigon and most recently, Cape town. I enjoy reading, cooking, hiking, swimming, yoga & meditation, mountain biking, good movies & the outdoors.

    Andreas grew up in Switzerland and left in 2006 for St Petersburg (Russia); later moved to Pemba/Mozambique where we met 13 years ago. He follows all sports, plays football, misses skiing and joins me hiking and on the mountain bike. Loves music, riding motorbikes or anything fast.

    We like to be active and prefer spending time in nature & small villages rather than cities, adores the sun & beach, are both foodies and huge dog lovers.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Carpentry
    Pets
    Architecture
    Books
    Cooking & food
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    I have been working in travel & hospitality for 25 years. Worked as a maid, bar lady, waitress, front of house/reception, stewardess, accounts, trainer, manager, you name it. Also founded & managed a successful tour operator company in northern Mozambique (2003-2019).

    Andreas is an experienced senior architect (15+ years) and excellent DIYer. He can built & fix anything!
    Before completing his Bachelor of Architecture in Switzerland, he worked as a professional licensed structural carpenter & site manager for 9 years.
    He has been self-employed for the last 10 years, tecky and knows his way around computers.

    I had the amazing opportunity & most rewarding experience to design & literally built my own home in Mozambique. All from local materials such as bamboo and dead coral rock, sunk a well, use solar and see how sand can turn into a stunning indigenous forest. In the early days there was not much one could call a "grit" to live on.
    The life of pioneering in a small African town was extremely tough but also the best years of our lives where one is taught many skills out of necessity & the immense value of community.

    Prior to leaving Cape Town we were working closely with a charity organisation, fostering rescue dogs (often very ill), awaiting adoption.

    We put a lot of energy into any task and take pride in what we do, no matter how trivial, are both very organised & painstakingly neat.

  • Languages spoken

    Afrikaans: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    47 & 48

  • What else ...

    Did I mention we adore dogs?

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback